We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly Very Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Stevenage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Stevenage to your Saves list
Novotel Stevenage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Knebworth Park, Stevenage SG1 2AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stevenage
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nearly Very Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel suited our purpose well - we were moving on to do business in Newmarkwet the following day. The room was good, the staff were courteous and we slept well. The price was reasonable value. However there was one problem and that was the quality of the meal served in the restaurant the evening before. My wife had the chicken and I chose the confit of duck. Unfortunately both dishes were disappointing - they had been prepared via a microwave oven. What a missed oppotunity for the hotel to do the job properly with a little extra effort. I conveyed these thoughts to the reception staff the following morning and was told that the chef would contact me personally. I am still waiting. If you go there - leave time to try a restaurant in Stevenage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Stevenage very soon. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    146
    90
    38
    21
See reviews for
76
93
41
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bazauges, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting family.

The room was large and comfortable, although the finish on the walls was a bit hit and miss. During our stay there was very large 18 birthday do and an even larger wedding reception. However we did not hear any noise from either event nor from the A1(M) which run a few meters away.

We did not eat at the premises as the prices seemed quite steep. £13.50 each for breakfast, however the restaurant looked comfortable and clean.

Would we stay here again. Yes most defiantly.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the premises and did not hear anything from the A1(M).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Stevenage very soon. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very good location for Stevenage. Probably stay here once every 2 months for a night or two. Consistently quiet, clean and food always very good at breakfast. Quite often eat at the restaurant and can't remember any bad meals there. Hotel rooms are due a re-furbishment and the facilities at the hotel are basic. Do not expect a spa, gym etc. This is really geared towards the business traveller though I have seen quite a few families using it as an overnight stop.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. Avoid the ones on the ground floor if possible as the early starters draggin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with friendly staff in a convenient location. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The cooked breakfast are hot and good value. We always stay here when I am working in Knebworth (3 or 4 times a year).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Stevenage again very soon. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Easy hotel to find just off the motorway. Check-in was seemless with very helpful staff, the bar area at the front of the hotel is lively and vibrant but the bedroom I stayed in was bit dull. The room was clean and tidy but just needs modernisation, get rid of the seperate toilet and join it with the bathroom it would make the bathroom feel less claustrophobic.
There is no free wifi not even 30 minutes (Premier Inn style) and in this digital television age you get about 8 channels of entertainment and 6 channels of news and they are still using pay per movie (I haven't paid for a hotel movie in the last eight years) I connect my laptop to the tv and watch one of my own movies - there was a plus point with the tv, the ability to connect a HDMI cable!
The food was very good, well presented and a good choice. Room service was spot on and all served in the time stated when ordered.
I've rated it very good because of the friendly staff, good food and good room service. I'll only stay here for business or more than one night if my usual hotel chain (Best Western) isn't available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times and always been satisfied. Basically standard Novotel, so you know what to expect. Good value and the facilities are better than available in competing chain hotels. The location may not suit everyone, but the roadside position is useful for us (traffic noise is not a problem). Only three stars for sleep quality because there was a wedding there the night we stayed and much banging on doors and noise very late, perhaps multiple key cards should be compulsory for wedding guests. Breakfast was good and good value by booking the night before. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will alway's try to address them. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the last 6 weeks during the working week and found this hotel to be exceptional value for £67 for the night.
I never book, just call when i am only an hour away and this very cheap walk in rate.

Staff and very nice though the meals are expensive. There are several large retail parks nearby if you want to eat cheap.

Pay an extra £9.99 to get broadband and they give u movies included in the price.
Quick and easy access to the M25 from here takes only 20 minutes even in rush hour.

Caution though, mobile reception at this hotel is very poor. My mobile broadband and telephone with orange and O2 is almost unusable at this location.

Like staying here and will do so again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor if you need a good mobile signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Stevenage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Stevenage

Address: Knebworth Park, Stevenage SG1 2AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Stevenage is a 3-star hotel, a 5 minute drive from central Stevenage. Your stay at this hotel puts you in close proximity to the A1(M),as well as Knebworth Park. The hotel has 101 stylish guest rooms, each with satellite TV. Elements Restaurant is open all day for international cuisine, while the bar is the ideal spot for a nightcap. The hotel boasts 6 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 150 people. The hotel is ideally located for events at Knebworth Park. Stansted airport 27 miles and London Luton Airport only 16 miles away. Explore the magic of the Harry Potter films at the Studio Tour London only 35 min away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Stevenage Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Stevenage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.