We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Eight

Aqua Eight
8 Lion Street, Ipswich IP1 1DQ, England
01473 218989
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aqua Eight is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 344 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $26 - $40
Cuisines: Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Faultless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Always exceptional. Service, food, atmospehere is of the highest calibre. Dined here many times the last few years and have yet to had a bad experience. Highly recommended! Best dish, soft shell crab, awesome!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Eight, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear curryandsoup91

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, your loyal custom and your recommendation (yes, the soft shell crab is very popular indeed!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    52
    23
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A little on the expensive side but a very good experience. Lovely food and plenty of it. We went for the "Let us put a meal together for you" (not the real name, can't actually remember what it is called). At £38 a head this was more than I am usually willing to pay for a meal, but worth it. Everything was of the highest quality, even the cocktails. A good selection of wine too.
I am hoping my husband will take me back there very soon! Book early, as it can be quite difficult to get a table at the weekend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Eight, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Nathalie R,

We're glad that you enjoyed one of our special menus, where we select the dishes for you. It's great for adventurous diners who like to explore the wide range of different flavours and tastes on our menus.

We will also hope that your husband brings you again, and shall look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Meal, Drinks and entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Sometimes words cannot explain how good something is. As a regular visitor to Aqua Eight on a Saturday evening I decided to sample the Restaurant for a mates birthday.
I am a very fussy eater but found there to be lots of varied food of which mostly fell kindly to my taste buds. On arrival we were greeted by management who led us up to the restaurant. We sat in an excellent position in the comfortable and pleasant surroundings. Restuarant staff came over for a chat and made us feel very welcome. Food was served very warm and at intervals we were asked if everything was to our liking.
Drinks were served whenever we asked and the Bill was excellent value for money.
We spent the next few hours down in the bar where management and staff were happy to share a drink with us.
I rate this as the best bar/restaurant in town. Great, friendly, welcoming staff who are happy to look after your varying needs. DJ nights are excellent, quiet nights are relaxing.
I will not only be returning for drinks but for sure a nice meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Eight, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear jamiesandilands9

Words cannot always explain how pleasing it is to get such kind and positive feedback from our guests! Thank you, it is very much appreciated and makes all the hard work worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very friendly and helpful staff, and delicious vegan food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I contacted Aqua Eight by email to enquire if they had any vegan options on their menu, and was delighted to receive a reply soon after saying that the chef had designed a vegan menu for my partner and I. We had eaten at Aqua Eight before becoming vegan, and had always had great food. It was therefore very pleasing that they went to some trouble to accomodate our new dietary requirements. Naturally we made a booking straight away, and have now enjoyed what was a truly delicious and varied vegan banquet.

We are happy to be able to continue visiting this excellent restaurant, whose staff are always very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Eight, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear ChrisE, we're glad you enjoyed your evening and hope your wife had a very happy birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“...above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Booked a meal here as a birthday treat following rave reviews from work colleagues...and wasn't disappointed!....whole evening was great, food wonderful, staff attentive and helpful...would certainly go there again...oh and gr8 choice of cocktails!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Eight, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Jeffers H,

Thank you for your review and glad to hear your birthday celebrations did not disappoint! We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Eight also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Aqua Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Eight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.