We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funky, reliable and good deals” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ASK Italian - Ipswich

ASK Italian - Ipswich
23 Grafton Way | Cardinal Park, Ipswich IP1 1AX, England (Formerly ASK)
+44 1473 210443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 345 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Housed in the centre of Ipswich, ASK Italian offers casual Italian dining at affordable prices. This ASK Italian restaurant has recently gone through an extensive refurbishment. We've created a restaurant with a distinctive new look inspired by modern Italian design. And with the help of our expert friends, including awarding-winning chef Theo Randall, we've created a menu that features a range of simple, classic Italian food and an all Italian wine list.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“funky, reliable and good deals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Being a chain restaurant there should be no expectation of amazing food but as far as your run of the mill italian restaurants go Ask Ipswich is pretty good!

the food is pretty standard and they certainly don't overdo it with the ingredients but it does taste nice and the presentation is ok.

the decor is really retro and actually quite tasteful for a chain restaurant. the staff were friendly but we didn't see much of them.

basically its great for a cheap meal out with friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    45
    17
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice food, but slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had never visited before but had been recommended by friends. The restaurant was very busy and large, and quite noisy. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful, taking our order quickly. However service from the kitchen was incredibly slow (our waitress did warn us we would have to wait a while). When our food arrived it looked very appetising, although my husbands portion (of a seafood dish) was very small and not nearly enough for an adult! I had fettucine bolognese, which was very tasty and our friends had Lasagne, and, in my opinion, the best value dish, calzone. The calzone was huge and more than enough for a man sized appetite. Everything was well-cooked and nicely presented. Our waitress was very apologetic for the slow service (we had to wait almost an hour for food) and when it came to the bill she had knocked a very substantial amount off our total. She was a credit to Ask. Not a bad meal by any means, but never having visited before, we did not know what to expect. My husband and I found it a bit too noisy and could barely hear ourselves talk, let alone our friends, but it was a very busy night

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very frequently visited!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I first went to ask in march this year and now me and my other half go every week. We really do love it here, the staff are so friendly and very helpful. We love the fresh pastas and calzones. Would defiantly recommend!! Also, lots for vouchers for money off are available and are always welcome :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Really enjoyed my 3 course meals. Service was super, and the price was about what I expected. I sat outside, wasn't a great view but still very nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just go to see the waitresses smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Slightly better than average Italian, you're right it's not a trattoria on the banks if the Tiber but its ok for the money and guess what they employ youth who seem to enjoy what they do so go, eat pasta, pizza whatever have a few shindoofers and chill best so far on the Cardinal Park and I'm gonna review them all, so watch out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK Italian - Ipswich also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to ASK Italian - Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASK Italian - Ipswich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.