We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful food and wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich

Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich
Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
01473289748
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 313 restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $29 - $72
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Continental, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Within easy walking distance of the town centre, Ipswich's most original restaurant, II Punto, is an antique Dutch customs gunboat, moored along Neptune Quay. You can relax in its wonderful atmosphere and its polished brass ambience. From a quick snack for lunch on the upper deck to a romantic dinner on the lower deck, it is the perfect place for an evening on the sea front.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wonderful food and wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The food is delicious and the service is attentive but unobtrusive - perfect. The house wine is just as house wine should be - a representation of the house - excellent!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    159
    51
    13
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

After reading the reviews on here I thought I was in for a real treat. Instead the food was burnt, service was slow and the staff surly, the chair was broken and the toilet was flooded. There are far nicer places to eat on the Waterfront ...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“An amazing Christmas lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our works Christmas meal saw 60 of us having lunch at the Mariners. Great selection available from the menu, and everyone commented on how good everything was.

The staff were very efficient and attentive, and quickly had each course served, along with drinks etc.

Cost was reasonable for 3 courses, plus coffee.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled across the restaurant by chance as we were visiting Ipswich for the first time and wandered along the quay to see what took our fancy. I think we picked the best as we had a wonderful experience. Food lovely (would have given full 5 score but duck was everso slightly over cooked but I'm being picky here!) starter of crab excellent, cheese served perfectly and lovely choice. Attentative staff who brought me my own heater when I said I was a little chilly near the window, it was one of the coldest nights this year though. Would def recommend this lovely restaurant, and it's worth paying the extra for the cheese!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“another visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Every visit we make we really enjoy courteous service, an excellent food and drink menu and excellent settign

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.