We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich

Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich
Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
01473289748
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 344 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $29 - $72
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Continental, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Within easy walking distance of the town centre, Ipswich's most original restaurant, II Punto, is an antique Dutch customs gunboat, moored along Neptune Quay. You can relax in its wonderful atmosphere and its polished brass ambience. From a quick snack for lunch on the upper deck to a romantic dinner on the lower deck, it is the perfect place for an evening on the sea front.
Ipswich
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Faultless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Went for a romantic meal here on a Tuesday evening. Table booked for 7:00, Met at the door by the staff who took our coats and led us to our table. Lovely ambiance about the place as always. All food is on a set price menu, with week days cheaper than at the weekend. The choices on the menu are excellent with a great choice of approximately 10 different starters, the same with the mains. All tastes are catered for with Fish, Game, Poultry & of course vegetarian dishes. Whenever we have eaten here the food, drink & service has been faultless.
This really is a special place where nothing is too much trouble.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    61
    15
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and River view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Ate lunch here yesterday with 2 friends. On arrival greeted warmly coats taken and hung on hangars and shown to our table quickly by the window. Fantstic view of River Orwell, Maltings and all the boats moored up. The restaurant is a ship used to be called Il Punto. Quite a steep ramp to walk down but plenty of rails to hang on to.
Food is excellent not a lot of it on the plate but beautifully cooked and presented. Its mainlly French cuisine. I had apple brie tart in filo pastry and pork loin on a small bed of mash. We had to order side dish of veg..carrots and green beans otherwise we would be hungry! My friend had salmon and sald for staters. Whole meal with bottle of water and a juice came to £73. We did leave a tip. Excellent place to eat get there quick. Parking is across the road £3 all day!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very good, worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate on a saturday evening and made the booking late so sat down at 9. Very friendly staff and nice atmosphere. We had a table on the upper deck and although next to the bar and small it was roomy enough. The fixed price menu has plenty of choice and we really enjoyed the crab starter, main course portions are a bit small but quality excellent. Dessers good but a £5 supplement for the cheese is a bit on the steep side as, although the selection is excellent the portions are small. Excellent wine list with plenty of choice below £20. Service very good although waited a bit long for the main course. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The atmosphere on this boat restaurant is special so makes it great for special occasions. The food although a bit more expensive than some places in town, it is worth it. Service is excellent and the menu has choices for everyone.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My sister and I took my mum here for her birthday last Friday. Lovely surroundings, nice menu and great service. Good value too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.