We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Added bonus is use of David Lloyd club” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Havens, 2 Ransomes Europark, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Added bonus is use of David Lloyd club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed one night. Room was clean and tidy, comfortable bed and choice of hard or soft pillows. The hotel has a mini by but also an arrangement with the David Lloyd club over the road for guests to use for free. This was excellent as the club had fantastic gym and pool, normally £16 for guests.

No free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We are proud of our relationship with David Lloyd and our guest rate, this is part of our Unique selling point. Looking forward to welcoming you back in 2013. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    71
    53
    17
    12
See reviews for
19
72
6
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We only stayed at the Hotel for one night for New Years and we could see how well presented and nicely kept it was.The Hotel was nice and the Staff was very understanding, the Manager-Alison Scrivener listened to us, helped and cared for any problems we had.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your honest and complimentary feedback. I will relay your comments to Alison and hope we can welcome you back soon to the Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Room was presented well. Temperature was far too hot. Unable to turn radiators down. Window only opened a couple of cms. Became unbearable so left as early as possible wearing a t shirt to car. Ridiculous.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good Morning Sirs, thank you firstly for appreciating our room standards, we have invested in training and developing of our housekeeping team. I am surprised to learn that the radiator valve malfunctioned. We have a fulltime maintenance team onsite that would have dealt with the problem and if we were unable to resolve the issue we would gladly offer an alternative room. Can you please contact me direct to confirm that you have reported this to our management team? Quinton.oshea@kewgreen.co.uk. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I've stayed here twice and found it the same each time - pleasant and efficient staff but restaurant not a strength - probably because it doesn't attract much trade, being off the beaten track. Was not impressed by hoovering carpet for breakfast before I'd finished my dinner on the first occasion. Rooms are clean and well serviced and the car park is convenient.

Would use it mainly because of loyalty card points.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good Morning Sirs. Thanks for your positive as well as constructive views on your recent stay. I will be taking your comments forward to our next F&B meeting where we strive to improve our restaurant experience. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business located just off the a14 just after the Orwell bridge. It's a bit out of Ipswich but perfect if doing business in Felixstowe or the euro park.

The rooms and hotel are Ok for 3 star, if a bit dated, it really could do with a makeover but its fine for 1 night. Rooms were clean bed comfy and breakfast ok. On site free parking

Only complaint was the really noisy raidiators and annoying noisy extractor fan in the bathroom which stayed on for nearly 1 hour after turning the light out. Drove me mad

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay with us. We have addressed the small issue of the noisy radiator, and look foraward to wlecoming you back soon.
With regards from the Management Team at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Wyrley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This Holiday Inn may look a little dated in some areas, but other than that I cannot fault it. I stayed here for 15 nights on a business related trip and found both the service and amenities to be great. The room (a standard double) was plenty big enough, with all the right facilities, a comfortable mattress and most importantly blackout curtains that worked! The internet connection was frustratingly slow at times, but I managed with it. As I was working until after 9pm most nights, I had to eat from the Bar menu as the restaurant was closed, however this was no problem as the Bar menu still had an okay selection of food, only missing a few dishes that the Restaurant menu had. My experience of both the Bar and Restaurant was positive, with mostly efficient service and good food. Occasionally some dishes weren't up to scratch, and the portions varied every night, but I mostly enjoyed my meals. Breakfast every morning was great, with a generous selection of hot and cold options. Finally, I have to mention the brilliant staff. In particular, Alice, Alison and Richard who made our stay all the more enjoyable, and nothing was too much trouble for anyone at the hotel! I'm sure it's not easy catering to such a large group. Thank you for a great 15 nights!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay with us, it is nice to know that we are serving our "long stay guests" well.The food and beverage team reviewed your observations regarding menu choice and I am happy to say that we have now incorporated a new Winters menu to compliment the grill menu. We look forward to wlecoming you back soon.
With regards from the Management Team at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I am a Platinum member, I have stayed at this hotel before myself and have other members of my party as i arrived at the hotel for a meeting after a long day on the road, I recived a call from reception to tell me that there was a problem with my room , they had relocated me to another hotel only 15mins up the road at this point i was not in the best of moods, during my meeting i was made to feel special with free coffee and a sandwich served with a smile thanks to Alison the lovely calming lady in the bar/resturant I was also offered a Taxi if required so i could have a drink, I would just like to say thanks for the great service and appologise for being grumpy these things happen its just how you deal with it, great sevice thanks for making things right looking forward to getting a room next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your positive comments regarding the Hotel, I am sorry you were unable to stay with us on this occasion but happy to know that the Company Book Out policy was handled in the correct way. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ipswich soon, when I hope we can welcome you to the Hotel.

With regards from the Management Team at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Address: The Havens, 2 Ransomes Europark, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel is ideally located at Junction 57 on the A14, only 10 minutes from Ipswich Town Centre, 15 minutes from the Suffolk Coast and 5 minutes from Trinity Park the home of the Suffolk Show.The Hotel boasts extensive free car parking and a selection of Queen Double and King Double/Twin Bedrooms some with sofa beds for families. A further 6 Executive Rooms are the ideal business choice with mini bars and laptops safes, in addition 2 open plan Suites add the final touch of luxury for those special occasions.The Hotel offers a range of dining experiences, The Priory Restaurant, Bar and Lounge offer informal modern dining with a large choice of food and drink options complimented with daily specials to suit the needs of both the Corporate and Leisure Guest. The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel has a range of conference and banqueting rooms, with Wi-Fi access available in these and also the public areas, whilst wired access is available in all bedrooms.The Hotel offers an onsite Gym and within walking distance, a state of the art Full Leisure Complex is available to guests at a small nominal charge.The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel, close enough to access the business districts and Adastral Park, whilst still being the ideal base to enjoy the rest of East Anglia and all that it can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.