We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would've been marked higher, but for tired decor!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cameo Hotel Copdock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cameo Hotel Copdock to your Saves list
Cameo Hotel Copdock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old London Road | Copdock, Ipswich IP8 3JD, England (Formerly Hotel Elizabeth Copdock)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would've been marked higher, but for tired decor!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Brilliant customer service, clean and spacious! In agreement with most other reviews, this hotel has some gems, but does need a modernisation from the 80's!
Positives: exceptionally happy and smiley staff - mostly young- and a special mention to Holly during afternoon tea, who went out of her way to be friendly to everyone and supplied a neat foil 'handbag' for our excess cakes, to go! Nice 'pub' atmosphere in bar area. Decent enough breakfast.
Negatives: We only found second set of towels on following morning, in a drawer we didn't use on a one-nighter. Beds were not kingsize and no air con, so hot all night. No loo brush in bathroom! Only slight moan re: breakfast was that the sausages were listed as pork & leek, but weren't! Hotel overhaul needed to compete with other 3* hotels.
All in all, if you just need a conveniently placed hotel for a short stay, this one isn't bad!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    62
    38
    12
    11
See reviews for
27
49
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Whilst the décor in the rooms is a tad dated, the hotel offers good value for money in terms of clean, spacious, peaceful and comfortable accommodation.

We were attending a friend's event which was being hosted in the hotel and staying here seemed the obvious choice. In terms of location, the hotel is a stone's-throw away from the A12, however the noise of the traffic cannot be heard resulting in truly peaceful rooms.

As mentioned, the rooms are a tad dated but are nevertheless presentable. The only problem I found was that the room was a tad warm and even with the window wide-open, it was difficult to regulate the temperature. Then again, it was summertime in England, so that's to be expected!

Another minor gripe was the price of drinks at the bar. Having stayed in more than my fair share of hotels, I fully appreciate that it's the norm for them to add a premium onto the cost of drinks. However, paying a premium for a carbonated mixer to be poured from a plastic bottle was irksome to say the least.

Fortunately for the hotel, their staff were excellent; you couldn't ask for a more friendly, polite or helpful set of ambassadors! I would certainly consider staying here in the future if I was ever in this part of the world, however I would avoid the bar and the unjustifiable prices in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I recently visited the Cameo Hotel for a Groupon Break.
We often use the groupon deals because they are very good value and it gives you the chance for a short break to visit local attractions.
We booked the afternoon tea with Prosecco and overnight stay and looked forward to visiting Ipswich nearby at the same time.
A few days before our visit my wife read some recent reviews on the trip advisor about this hotel and I must admit we did consider cancelling due to some negative remarks.
We are so pleased we ignored the remarks and went to the hotel as planned.
When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised when we entered the hotel.
We were greated by a very nice receptionist was a beaming smile and made us feel very welcome.
She went out of her way to help and changed the time of the afternoon tea we had previously booked and gave us room key.
The hotel is a 3 star but the bar was very pleasent and the spiral staircase was a nice feature.
Some person complained about this being scruffy but apart from a few worn marks on the wood part of the step edge of carpet we thought it was fabulous.
How many people walk up and down these stair daily dragging suitcases so cant fault wear and tear although I found no concern.
The room was very large and pleasant and yes although no Air con how often do we have a heatwave in the UK and it has 2 large sliding windows to open.
The bathroom was very clean and the bed comfortable with spare pillows in sealed bag for added comfort.
The flatscreen tv was a slight small but we only watched the news so who cares.
The afternoon tea was very nice and nice selection of sandwiches and cakes and nice tea.
The waiter was working very hard as it was quite busy but he was very effeciant and could not have been any nicer as he went out of his way to serve you quickly and kept asking if everything was ok.
We asked if we could have the bottle of Prosecco to take to our room and he said no problem he would put it behind the bar chilling for us to drink later.
We went into Ipswich early evening for Cinema and a meal out and returned to the hotel at 10pm.
The prosecco was awaiting behind the bar chilled and we was given the bottle with glasses on a tray.
The bar is very nicet and we found a nice comfy leather sofa and we both enjoyed the nightcap drinking the whole bottle.
In the morning we were greated for breakfast by the same waiter and a very pregnant waitress who once again were very nice and helpful.
The breakfast room is very light and airy with nice view of the garden and the food was good with a individually cooked English which I prefer than the normal help yourself from hotplates which normally are baked up or semi cold.
The breakfast was served immediately after we finished our cereals and plenty of toast,tea and coffee.
My wife only drinks herbal tea and the waiter brought up 6 or 7 different herbal teas for her to choose from which was very good.
The hotel is very good value, with good food, reasonable bar prices and large comfortable rooms with easy access to A12 or A14 and Ipswich etc.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody especially as the staff so helpful and welcoming and will visit again in the future.
If you want a 4 or 5 star hotel don't stay here but if your like myself want a nice comfortable hotel for a reasonable price especially if you book through Groupon which will include afternoon tea etc then stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matching Tye, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We (party of 4) booked a 2 night deal with afternoon tea and Prosecco afternoon tea was not the best we've had but ok.
Was a very hot weekend and yes the rooms could do with air-con but we found if you left the windows wide open it was bearable!
Yes the hotel is tired and in need of refurbishment but the staff are fantastic every single member that works there is a credit to them!!
Food was good too especially the freshly cooked breakfast, we ate in one evening and the food was also very good so would recommend.
Really good location for Suffolk Coast and not far from Ipswich Docks which is great for an evening out! All in all don't believe all you read in the reviews we had such a great time we stayed an extra night!! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pegs55, Public Relations Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear how much you have enjoyed your time with us and felt comfortable troughout your stay. We are already looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Manoj Nair
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My business colleagues and I have just had a really nice and very enjoyable stay at The Cameo Hotel, Copdock. There is simply nothing to complain about. The staff and management are very friendly and helpful, and nothing was ever too much trouble. The food was excellant and we even managed to get meals after the normal serving hours. Good bar for drinks. The rooms are ideal for our needs, comfortable beds, tele, tea/coffee, hair dryer, phones and wi-fi etc. It is many times better value than The Ritz. The hotel is very spacious and also caters for weddings, conferences and various functions. It has a huge, and separate from the hotel, Banquet Hall with Stage for all types of events. We shall definitely be staying here again when in the area. The hotel was everything we needed for a good rest and stay. Check out their website.

Room Tip: Ideal quiet location just a few minutes out of Ipswich.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pegs55, Public Relations Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
it was a pleasure reading your lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed all services provided. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Manoj Nair
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

just had afternoon tea on Saturday at the hotel the staff are all very welcoming, the beef in the sandwich was very tough and both my daughters said there is something wrong with the cream for the scones it wasn't fresh cream also so much cream on the cup cakes,my self and daughter had a bit of stomach pain afterwards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pegs55, Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your cream tea and your kind comments about our staff, which I know will be appreciated.
The cakes we use are topped with butter cream which can be very sweet, but the cream we provide with the scones is definitely real fresh double cream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a wedding to go to so stayed at cameo. We arrived and were told we couldn't book in because the card key was broken so went back later. The wedding food and breakfast was very nice. The rooms are very standard and had no air con. And was very hard to sleep as it was just so hot. Staff were very ffriendly . I wouldnt go back as it was just way to hot in the room it put me off.

Room Tip: To hot in room we were up stairs in a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cameo Hotel Copdock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameo Hotel Copdock

Address: Old London Road | Copdock, Ipswich IP8 3JD, England (Formerly Hotel Elizabeth Copdock)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cameo Hotel Copdock 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cameo Hotel, a friendly and relaxed hotel offering comfortable accommodation, professional conference facilities, large and small event and banqueting rooms and excellent wedding packages.Great new menu choices are on offer in the Wolsey restaurant, new wedding packages take advantage of the welcoming gardens just through the restaurant doors, modern IT ready conference and meeting facilities, together with banqueting packages, offer a multitude of options to accommodate groups from 20 to 400 guests, with more than ample private car parking in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cameo Hotel Copdock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Copdock Hotel
Cameo Hotel Copdock Ipswich, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameo Hotel Copdock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.