We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cameo Hotel Copdock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cameo Hotel Copdock to your Saves list
Cameo Hotel Copdock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old London Road | Copdock, Ipswich IP8 3JD, England (Formerly Hotel Elizabeth Copdock)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Rooms quite basic, but very clean and adequate. Food excellent, and staff very freindly and attentive. Beautiful grounds and very well kept. Nice to eat outside if the weather is good. Plenty of parking

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are bigger and better than first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    62
    38
    12
    11
See reviews for
27
49
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Agree with other reviewer, awful afternoon tea, didn't even get asked about the wine! Clueless staff who cannot even suggest what to do. The rooms Are outdated and dull. Definitely in need of some modernisation. The toilet does not even flush and the bathtub is again outdated.

Asked for some ice for the room, delivered ice that looks like home blocks of ice. Whoever has given good reviews are either not fussy or have not experienced many hotels. Would not recommend this hotel and would stay clear of future groupon deals.

Area is also dull, not much to do around here. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Don't come here in the summer no A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pegs55, Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I find it hard to believe that the many favourable comments we have received for our cream teas and brilliant and attentive staff can all be hopelessly wrong, however , everyone has their own opinion.
I also cannot agree with your comments regarding Suffolk. It is a beautiful county and there is lots to do and places to visit within a few miles of the hotel. Ipswich water front is about 3 miles away and is a lively and vibrate place, Ipswich town has many fine parks and buildings of great historical interest. Just down the road from us is Jimmy's Farm and then within 5 miles are several areas of extraordinary beauty like Flatford Mill of Constable fame. There is a brochure display of local places of interest in reception for guests convenience.
I'm sorry I don't understand your comments on our ice cubes, they are just normal ice cubes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just been to cameo hotel for a Groupon afternoon tea deal. The only good thing was the pimms!
There was 6 finger sandwiches, 2 leftover roast beef and mustard, 2 smoked salmon and cream cheese and 2 grated cheese and cucumber, all virtually tasteless on awful thin sliced cheap bread. Two commercially made scones, cheap raspberry jam and awful cream. Four cupcakes - again not homemade cake with thick horrible cream on the top. Pot of dishwater tea.
Very tired looking hotel,will never visit again, I thought the idea of a Groupon deal was to make a good impression and encourage customers to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pegs55, Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Janet R,
I am sorry to hear you were not happy with your cream tea. We have had many favourable comments regarding our cream teas but, of course they can not be to everyone's taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, £65 each night with breakfast, breakfast ok. The room decors dated, hot water wasn't hot enough, wifi not working, the worst thing is the bed, Me and my partner could clearly see the bed bugs jumped. The whole property needs a good refurbish.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pegs55, General Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Firstly I can reassure you that it was not bed bugs you saw as they do not jump.
Bed bugs are becoming a problem world wide, so it is necessary for all hotels to have procedures in place to recognise any evidence of these parasites so that immediate remedial action can be taken. All our housekeeping staff are fully trained to look for the signs of potential problems. Rooms are also equipped with monitoring devices and I'm pleased to confirm that all areas are clear. It is possible in the current warm weather that insects have flown in through open windows.
We have not had any complaints regarding our wi-fi so can only assume you were experiencing log on difficulties with your equipment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed for six days due to father-in-law in Ipswich Hospital. Previously stayed hour when it was called Hotel Elizabeth. Booked room on the internet at hotel website, but then realised that this took you to a site called Central Reservations. DO NOT USE THIS METHOD OF BOOKING. Go to hotel by telephone. Got Double room with breakfast for £51 per night. (per room). The nearest premier Inn is at Chantry Park and has a pub called the Beagle on site. Over £70 for bed and breakfast and then check out reviews of the Beagle for meals. Then check the reviews for food at the Cameo Hotel.
Yes it probably could do with some room refurbs, but you can see that it is well used. (probably because of price.
Breakfast was good and the evening meal was excellent. A small choice menu well done.
Staff were helpful and smiling.
If premier Inn wants to win it will have to better its prices in this area.
We will return to the Cameo.

Room Tip: Ask if any weddings or parties or entertainment if you want to get a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pegs55, Guest Relations Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent visit to the Cameo Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I am particularly pleased to see that our team were very friendly and accommodating.

I will be passing on your feedback to the team so that they can see how much their hard work has being appreciated.

Once again thank you for your review and I am looking forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back very soon.

Manoj Nair
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went with friends on a weekend deal to The Cameo Hotel. It was excellent value and we all had a great time. The rooms were spacious ,clean and comfortable. All the staff were very helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. Most of all they all had happy smiling faces when dealing with you and genuinely seemed pleased to be of service. The food was excellent and we all went home needing to go on a diet !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pegs55, Guest Relations Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay here at the Cameo Hotel.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that everything met with your expectations and I do hope that myself and the team have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Manoj Nair
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

On June 21st we had our wedding here and from the moment we booked with Tiffany the events manager, the hotel were very very helpful, our day went completely without any problems from start to finish. The food was really good from the canapés to the Buffett in the evening all the staff were so accommodating when asked. A special thanks to Carlos from the hotel for everything he did to make it run like clock work.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pegs55, Guest Relations Manager at Cameo Hotel Copdock, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Dear guest,
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the cameo Hotel; it is important for us and our staff to read good comments about the quality of the products and service you received. Tiffany and Carlos will be very happy to read your special comments.

We hope to see you again soon.

Manoj Nair
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cameo Hotel Copdock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameo Hotel Copdock

Address: Old London Road | Copdock, Ipswich IP8 3JD, England (Formerly Hotel Elizabeth Copdock)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cameo Hotel Copdock 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cameo Hotel, a friendly and relaxed hotel offering comfortable accommodation, professional conference facilities, large and small event and banqueting rooms and excellent wedding packages.Great new menu choices are on offer in the Wolsey restaurant, new wedding packages take advantage of the welcoming gardens just through the restaurant doors, modern IT ready conference and meeting facilities, together with banqueting packages, offer a multitude of options to accommodate groups from 20 to 400 guests, with more than ample private car parking in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cameo Hotel Copdock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Copdock Hotel
Cameo Hotel Copdock Ipswich, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameo Hotel Copdock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.