We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Restaurant & Bar

Park Restaurant & Bar
Ufford Park, Yarmouth Road, Melton | Woodbridge, Ipswich IP12 1QW, England
+44 1394 383555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 357 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Park Restaurant offers a relaxed and non intimidating environment for all its diners. Our chefs use locally sourced produce wherever possible and can tailor most dishes should you have any specific dietary requirements. With a fully glazed frontage it also takes full advantage of the views across the 18 hole parkland golf course. The Restaurant is open every evening for dinner, for sunday lunch and for private lunches on other days. Children are also welcomed with their own special menu. All day bar snacks are also offered in the bar/lounge area, along with a children's menu, Afternoon Tea and every Thursday is Curry Night (5pm to 9pm)- Everyone is made welcome at The Park Restaurant & Bar located at Ufford Park Hotel. With free onsite parking and spectacular views you can simply just enjoy a coffee and slice of cake inside or outside on the terrace (weather permitting), whichever you prefer.
suffolk uk
1 review
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Due to the excellent Maitre D Stuart, our 2 night stay was made that more special, his attention to detail and excellent personality made our weekend that more memorable. If only more people in public relations jobs were as personable and pleasant as Stuart then it would be lovely. The food was lovely, varied and fresh. Stuarts knowledge of the menu also helped that bit more too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Park Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review regarding your recent meal in our Park Restaurant, whilst staying at the hotel. We are very proud of all our staff here at Ufford Park and will certainly pass on your specific high praise to Stuart Youngs our Maitre'D.
We hope you will stay with us again soon when you can enjoy another beautiful meal in our restaurant.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leiston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Staff excellent, food average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We booked in for the Valentine's meal and had expected that some effort would have been made to make it special. A rose on the table would have been nice!
The staff are very attentive and professional and very friendly. Only criticism if one of the girls had very strong perfume on which I hate when food is being served.
Starter very small, tiny bowl of rather flavourless soup and a small plate of uninteresting looking
meats. My main meal was pretty awful, it was supposed to be vegetable casserole with dumplings and mashed potato but was really like a ratatouille with a herb dumpling and grey mash on the side. Nice bread rolls though. Husband's steak was very good apparently but was quite a lot of money. Didn't have a dessert or coffee.
This restaurant could be a lot better, I know it is dated as is the rest of the hotel but I do think
it could be a lot better with the addition of table cloths, so unusual now and so lovely for guests.
Staff really excellent, food needs to be a better portion and a bit more attention to taste and presentation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Park Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your Valentine's Meal - we were very pleased to read that your found the service excellent but of course was disappointed to read that you were unhappy about your own meal. Of course we will relay all your comments to our Head Chef to investigate further for you because our normal feedback on flavour and presentation of dishes in our restaurant have been excellent so we are very sorry this did not appear to happen for your starter and main meal. We wish you had made our Maitre'D aware at the time because we would have done whatever we could to have resolved your issues so that you too could have enjoyed your meal as much as your husband did.

We hope you will not be put off from eating with us again and will trust the feedback others have left in previous reviews.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had our valentines meal here and it was absolutely delicious! The staff were so friendly and polite, the atmosphere was great and the food was some of the best we have had! The menu was great and not bad prices either. I cannot speak highly enough of the whole evening. If you are thinking of dining here you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Park Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear James
Thank you for your excellent review regarding your Valentine's Meal in our Park Restaurant. We were so pleased to read that you thought the quality of our food and service was excellent and overall good value for money.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again - our restaurant is open 7 nights a week.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“delicious flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We ate at the park as we were on a spa weekend break and food was included in the price. We had a 3 course meal and also breakfast. The evening meal was superb, the flavour was outstanding and I can recommend the smoked chicken and bacon salad. The staff made the evening relaxing and Stuart was ensuring our evening was going smoothly, his manner is very professional. Breakfast was lovely and the sausages very nice quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Park Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Tracy
Thank you for your fabulous review regarding both your 3 course evening meal and your buffet breakfast, which were both included in your recent Spa Break here at Ufford Park.
We do our best to offer a variety of flavours in our dishes, the use of quality ingredients along with good old fashioned friendly and attentive service - so thank you for noticing these in your review.

We very much hope to welcome you back into our Park Restaurant again soon. Depending on how far away you live - the Park is always open to non residents too !!

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hats Off!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Maitre d is a credit to the restaurant. He is friendly, welcoming and runs the restaurant superbly.

We really wasn't expecting anything top notch but that is exactly what we got. The menu was extensive with a great range of specials. For starters I had baked camembert with cranberry sauce, my husband had smoked mackerel salad, both were beautiful. Mains, I had Lemon Sole in a prawn butter and caper sauce with sauté potatoes and green beans and my husband had the mixed grill, again beautiful. I never usually have desert but had raspberry and white chocolate cheese cake and my husband fruit crumble with custard...superb!!

Hats off to the chef, catering and waiting staff. Absolutely fabulous!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Park Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review regarding your recent meal in our Park Restaurant - it was a delight to read and we very much appreciated you finding the time to review us. The fact that we surpassed your expectations is one thing but the fact you clearly dine out regularly made your comments about superb service, extensive choice of menu and quality of food all the more rewarding.
We will certainly pass it on to the team, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Park Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.