We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre to your Saves list
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre
33 Key Street, Ipswich IP4 1BZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £55
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

we were visiting relations who live in the area, we chose the town centre because everything we needed was close by, as it was a hot week we were very happy with the air conditioning in the hotel. We use premier inn quite a lot for short breaks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    79
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
53
97
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Have never stayed in a Premier Inn before and didn't actually book this time - it was a block booking through a friend for another friend's wedding. When I saw the price I thought it would be pretty grim and basic but it was fantastic! Rooms were lovely and clean, as well as spacious. The staff were very helpful - especially at breakfast. Can't rate highly enough for the price. Have stayed in worse hotels for double the nightly rate. Would definitely book PI again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Bargain price for near quayside just across road thougj view blocked by another building.can tell hotels new comfy beds
try issacs along quayside for food lovely
about 10min walk to town
staff friendly

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The premierinn is newly built with plenty of parking although the oneway system is a nightmare particularly at evening rush hour. The marina is directly over the road, try Issacs. Town centre is 5/10 minutes walk with some goodcbars and restaurants. The premierinn has a bar/restaurant where they do a limited choice of Italian style meals and operates on a morning for breakfast. I would definitely opt for this place above the Chantry premierinn if you have the choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have stayed in a number of Premier Inns in the past and have always had an excellent stay.
We stayed for 2 nights in Ipswich this time as we were exploring Suffolk. We had booked the £25 promotion some weeks previously.
Had to be careful with the directions as you could easily miss the entrance to the car park. Parking was free which was excellent. Staff were very pleasant and professional, particularly when dealing with the problem we had with the bed in room 114. The mattress was hard and 'creaky'. unlike any other mattress we have experienced before in a Premier Inn. We had a terrible nights sleep the first night and spoke to the staff the next morning. We were refunded £25 under the Good Night Sleep guarantee scheme. The receptionist was very concerned and said they would 'flip' the mattress to see if it made any difference.
Our second nights sleep was just as bad. Again refunded £25 by the same receptionist. This must be a 'rogue' mattress because we have always had a good nights sleep in Premier Inns before.
The location in Key Street is excellent,close to the Quay side and walking distance to the town centre.
The bed problems aside, this is a typical, well run Premier Inn and I would stay there again. Just not in room 114!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A family group stayed in four rooms over a July weekend. The hotel's position was excellent, about 1 minute's walk to the quayside and 10 minute's walk to the town centre. One room was set up for three people, another with a cot, a third with two beds (a double and a single). Everything was as we requested. When we asked for the third bed to be made up in the room with a cot this was done immediately. Parking was free, either in the car park underneath the hotel or in another car park just a little way round the one way system. I see that some people have commented on the rooms being noisy. Our experience was quite the opposite. The hotel does have busy roads on both sides but the double (triple?) glazing was very effective. We had little need for air conditioning but when we did turn it on the room became cool very quickly. All air conditioning makes a noise and this was no different but no-one in our party commented on this. Somewhat odd arrangement for reception. You come in on the ground floor and go up one floor to reception. The restaurant is on the same floor. Most bedrooms are on the floors above. Free wi-fi for 30 minutes is advertised but I never used it. Cannot speak for the other members of the party. All in all this Premier Inn met all our requirements and I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Faultless! From directions to check in, to cleanliness of rooms, to quality of breakfast and best of all some very cheerful staff. A very pleasant 3 night stay and I would heartily recommend this hotel. Some good pubs nearby also!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre

Address: 33 Key Street, Ipswich IP4 1BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.