We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre to your Saves list
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre
33 Key Street, Ipswich IP4 1BZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £55
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the Premiere Inn for one night. The location, right by the Quay, was excellent as was the hotel itself - we couldn't fault it. Friendly, helpful staff at reception made booking-in an easy experience. The room was clean, modern and well-equipped. The bed was very comfortable with a choice of firm and soft pillows.
We had dinner in the restaurant and had one of the best chicken curries I can remember. A good choice of wines too. Once again, the staff were attentive and polite.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    75
    13
    9
    1
See reviews for
51
92
8
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Lovely hotel, stayed for a night with a friend. Room was clean, parking was in abundance with two car parks, location is great; can walk to docks or into town/train station etc. Staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Can't fault it in any way at all.
Good location, free parking, super friendly team who work there, comfy beds, fresh smelling, clean room.
It's a generous and fresh breakfast, we're fussy about food standards but just couldn't fault it at all and very reasonable priced - eggs are cooked to order, Costa coffee, branded cereals and fresh croissants plus more. I've stayed at very expensive hotels and had lousy quality expensive breakfasts, this one is impressive.
Premier Inn's are all generally good value, what makes this one even better is the quality of the staff who give a warm welcome and are genuinely helpful.
Stayed several times and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very friendly welcome, the hotel is just across the road from the Wherry Quay and ideally suited for exploring the centre of Ipswich and the Orwell Estuary. Parking was free but I felt wifi access was quite expensive - in view of the fact that the mobile signal in parts of the hotel was poor I think it should have been free. The rooms were a good size and the bed very comfortable. They don't have maintenance on site which was a bit of a problem as our wet room drain was totally blocked. Just across the road is a lovely Bistro on the waterside - called Bistro, I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when booking, floor 4 or above as the hotel is located in the middle of a one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

the staff are the best and so friendly, the rooms are comfortable and the best 12 nights sleep i have ever had in total with my 3 stays with them, there is plenty to choose from on the breakfast menu to set u up 4 the day then at the end of the day u have plenty of light bites or big meals depending on your appetite, there is someone there 24/7 should u have a problem or just need them to get u something there is also a snack machine in lobby should u fell peckish tv/radio kettle mugs coffee t milk etc glasses hairdryer exta pillows hard and soft in all rooms plus iron and board which reception will gladly take to your room if needed and a phone that u can call if any problems in middle of night

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This review is related to the Premier Inn on Key Street in Ipswich. The welcome was warm and friendly. The double bedroom was spacious and very clean. The breakfast was very good with excellent fresh coffee. Slightly odd arrangement -the reception desk is on the first floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We chose this hotel from the reviews on Tripadvisor for a quick overnight stay in Ipswich. We did have to drive around the one way system twice to get into to car park even though we were looking for it. There were plenty of spaces and a few more spaces if you follow the exit sign. The hotel is close to the shops and just across the road from the quayside, in fact you can even see it from a few rooms. Reception is on the first floor opposite the restaurant. The staff were all young and friendly, they worked together well and gave us the impression they took a pride in their jobs. We did not eat there in the evening as the quayside has some lovely places to eat for a variety of budgets with a view of the water and boats.
The room was comfortable, the bed was clean and very hard which was great support for our backs after a day in the car. Shower was strong and hot. Choice of soft or firm pillows. All in all we were very pleasantly surprised.
Breakfast was self service and very good, much better than a lot of hotel breakfasts we have had. They even cooked vegetarian sausages on request. We would definitely recommend this hotel for an overnight stay in Ipswich.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre

Address: 33 Key Street, Ipswich IP4 1BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.