We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas Party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Bar and Restaurant

Aurora Bar and Restaurant
The Tented Building, Helena Road, Ipswich, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 345 Restaurants in Ipswich
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Aurora Bar and Restaurant is a dining experience, located on Ipswich Marina. Serving pan-European cuisine and with unrivalled views, Aurora is truly a destination venue.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Christmas Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had our Christmas party here, and what an absolutely lovely evening it was! On arrival we stayed in the bar for drinks, before being seated in the restaurant. The food was simply divine. I had the Cauliflower Soup to start, Beef for main course after a recommendation from a friend, and I was not disappointed; it was beautifully tender. I then enjoyed the Cappuccino Brulee for dessert. Portion sizes and service were great, with the timings between each course spot on. After the meal we went to the bar to enjoy cocktails and live entertainment which had everyone up dancing. A fabulous evening, and one of the best meals I have had in a restaurant in ages.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas party celebrations and that the food and service matched your expectations.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Best wishes,
Emma
Aurora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    51
    27
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shepperton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Christmas Day meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had an excellent Christmas Day lunch. High quality delicious food, excellent service and in a lovely atmosphere. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas Day with us and we hope you'll consider spending it with us again!

With best wishes,
Emma,
Aurora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“I dont give 5s readily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This has to be without doubt the best ever Christmas day meal and experience we have ever had.
The food felt as if it had been cooked for you individually, not bulk cooked, as so many Christmas day dinners do.
We walked in the restaurant and we were greeted with a Glass of Champagne not Cava or in one place cider!!! even though advertised Champagne yuk, (shame on you moon and mushroom).
Canapes were lovely and set the scene. Lovely views over the marina and a really lovely lovely atmosphere.
We were taken to our table about half hour later when the canapes and champagne were finished, lovely.
Starters were scrummy not heavy or stodgy and probably one of the best starters i have ever had. My sislaw and I had the cheese salad and I know it sounds boring, but there was a mixture of strange mushrooms and items I had to google, dad had the lobster salad and my bother had the pate/terrine, everyone said their starters were tasty.
Mains arrived and yet again, lovely balance of vegetables and meat and I had a lovely veggie wellington, Dad had steak that had been cooked to perfection.
Deserts again were lovely with a chocolatey thingie, Christmas pudding and a cheese board.

All in all one of the best meals and service we have had in a long time.

5 out of 5 from all of the family to this restaurant and the staff.

ps Chef needs a new hat!

Thank you so very much, we know where we will be dinning next Christmas

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for this Aurora review.

We really appreciate the level of detail that you have provided and we're delighted that your Christmas Day lunch was one of the best you've had.

We hope to see you again this Christmas!

Best wishes,
Emma
Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Christmas Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Had our Christmas party there on Friday. The place was heaving but this didn't stop the excellent service. Food was quick and well timed between each course. Wine was being continually topped up - exactly what you want at a Christmas party! The food was brilliant and the portion sizes were quite large - the turkey dish seemed never ending. The evening entertainment was great and everyone was up on their feet right until the end of the night. A great evening was had by all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed the evening so much - the introduction of music in the bar following the meal definitely seems to have been well-received and this is certainly something we will look to continue this year.

We hope to see you again next Christmas!

Thanks again,
Emma
Aurora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Christmas party a hit & miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Went last Thursday for my firms Xmas party. Cannot fault the service and the food was in the main really good. The soup was a tad on the cold side. Pate though was wonderful as was the Featherblade of beef (more veg appreciated though).
Our biggest moan was the entertainment afterwards, a self indulgent DJ playing his own crap music. Full of his own importance. Not a party tune in sight. Killed the evening stone dead. This needs to be improved upon for any future return visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

We're glad you enjoyed the food (although please do let us know in future if you feel the soup could be a little warmer - we'd be happy to address this for you on the night).

Apologies that you didn't enjoy the music that followed. The advertised act cancelled at the last minute so it was a stand-in DJ but we're extremely sorry to hear that it didn't end your night on a good note.

Best wishes,
Emma
Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aurora Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.