We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic addition to the Waterfront!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Bar and Restaurant

Aurora Bar and Restaurant
The Tented Building, Helena Road, Ipswich IP3 0BT, England
+44 1473 857027
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 336 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Aurora Bar and Restaurant is a dining experience, located on Ipswich Marina. Serving pan-European cuisine and with unrivalled views, Aurora is truly a destination venue.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic addition to the Waterfront!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I dined at Aurora for the first time on Saturday evening having heard both good and bad reviews from friends. I have to say it was a delight the sun was setting and there was a real buzz about the place. It certainly didn't feel like Ipswich with modern decor and high end furnishings. Downstairs hired for a private party so we had pre dinner cocktails on the boat shaped bar upstairs, they we nice and the chairs are very cool!. For our food I had the Halibut and my partner had the Skate Wing- both were fantastic, starters were good and the portions acceptable. For dessert I plumped for the Rhubarb and Custard, with my other half having the Cheesecake. We were impressed with both although my girlfriend (who had dined before) said the previous apple cheesecake was better.

All in all we were very impressed with Aurora. it's one of the more expensive restaurants along the waterfront but the quality shows. The cocktails were well made, the food was impressive and the waitresses although young were very polite, personable and all seemed happy. We were slightly disappointed not to be able to use the downstairs areas and hope this isn't something that occurs often but certainly will dine again and wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Aurora. We really appreciate you taking the time to publicly endorse our restaurant in such a positive light.

From what you've described it seems that you had an enjoyable evening on Saturday and our apologies that you weren't able to enjoy a drink in the bar. Having been hired for a private event, we were unable to accommodate our other guests in there but pleased to hear you made the most of our bar upstairs!

Our Toffee Apple Cheesecake which your girlfriend may have had before did prove extremely popular - we think we might take a view on that and perhaps pop it back on the menu for your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and with the summer months coming up, please make sure you make full use of our balcony that's now open!

Best wishes,
Emma
Aurora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    60
    33
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting for a wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Love eating here, very special setting and fab food ! We chose the Halibut and Pork Tenderloin and wow were glad we did. Staff were very polite and helpful and helped us chose our wine , will definitely be back soon :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for this positive review of Aurora.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and good choice with the pork and halibut!

Now that the sun's out, Aurora is definitely coming into it's own and we would definitely recommend taking a table on our balcony to make the most of the sunshine!

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best wishes,
Emma
Aurora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over-priced, over-confident”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had dinner at Aurora on Saturday night and was v disappointed. Having read previous reviews I was really looking forward to having dinner with friends but whilst the restaurant itself is very attractive with fab views, the food was over-priced and desperately slow to arrive.
We will not be bothering again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed on Saturday.

Unfortunately due to staffing issues and late arrivals we were in a very difficult position to maintain our normal standards of service. Of course, this isn't an excuse and we apologise for your dissatisfaction.

We would really like to hear more from you so we can continue to improve our service, so please give us a call or drop us a line to discuss (01473 857027 / enquiries@aurorabarsandrestaurants.co.uk)

Many thanks,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location - end of”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Oh dear Aurora- and it all started out so well. What a beautiful location, assisted by a dramatic sunset and beautiful yachts gently bobbing in the water. There is a lovely sunny bar downstairs which we were not allowed to use because there was a private party coming in. Never mind, we thought, upstairs looks just as lovely. An indeed it was. Beautiful views,lovely light, attentive barman. Who cares that it's £9.50 for a glass of slightly flat champagne - we are in the cosmopolitan city of Ipswich we thought, so we should expect to pay for the nose for a drink.
We weren't even crestfallen when we were seated at our table and shown the menu (which if you are a regular on Trip Advisor you won't need to read as it seems it changes very little from week to week). And then it all started to go a little wrong. One hour 20 minute wait for our starters - who cares, we're having a great time with our friends!! Our main course won't be served until 10.00 (we were seated at 8.00) - mmmm this is becoming a little unacceptable as to be completely honest these are pretty hefty prices for little old Ipswich. Never mind, I'm sure it will be delicious. When it finally arrived (and I emphasise FINALLY) it would have been great for someone intent on losing weight but as we had built up quite an appetite, what with the 2 hour wait and all, it was all rather disappointing to be honest. A handful of fried potatoes and a dollop of spinach each to accompany our over-priced main was woeful to say the least. Aurora - if you are going to try and be high end you need to be bang on with your service and getting food onto the tables (as Gordon Ramsay would say) and you cannot rely on a beautiful building and stunning views to mask frankly mediocre food and unsatisfactory service. I actually overheard someone on a neighbouring table being BANNED by the proprietor for having the temerity to complain (apparently no-one ever complains).
Very disappointing Aurora - you may have won your staff a few bob on the National with your name but you certainly didn't win our hearts.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

We're very sorry that you didn't enjoy your evening with us. Unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances on this particular evening, we had an unexpected staff shortage in the kitchen and a number of parties arrived late which did affect our service timings and standards. We do apologise for this as it's not an excuse but it does explain somewhat the background to the situation.

We change our menu every four weeks so that there is always something new for diners to enjoy and we would certainly never look to ban someone for complaining in the restaurant, or the bar for that matter.

We would really like to discuss this further with you, so please can you email us on enquiries@aurorabarsandrestaurants.co.uk or call us on 01473 857027 to speak in more detail.

Many thanks,
Emma
Aurora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Patience can be tested!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good at lunchtime but poor in the evenings.
If you do not baulk at £60 steak meal for two, you wil soon have a beef with the long wait of over an hour and a half for your main course- we were not theonly ones,as that was the topic of conversation the evening we visited.
Felt sorry for the friendly young waiting staff who were crying out for some management guidance which was sadly lacking.
Premium prices deserve premium service.
There are better and much cheaper places on the quay to meet and eat, less pretentious and more personable.
Only go if you have the patience of a Saint or maybe if you are one!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your evening experience with us. The evening is question was a difficult one with staff shortages in the kitchen (unexpectedly) and a number of tables arriving late - but we know that that's no excuse.

Again, we apologise for the delay you had with your food and with our extensive staff training that we're currently undergoing, we hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the near future.

If you'd like to discuss this further, please do drop us a line and we'll give you a call. (enquiries@aurorabarsandrestaurants.co.uk)

Many thanks,
Emma
Aurora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aurora Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.