We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous way to send Mother's Day !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Bar and Restaurant

Aurora Bar and Restaurant
The Tented Building, Helena Road, Ipswich, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 344 Restaurants in Ipswich
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Aurora Bar and Restaurant is a dining experience, located on Ipswich Marina. Serving pan-European cuisine and with unrivalled views, Aurora is truly a destination venue.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous way to send Mother's Day !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Visited Aurora with my Mum and partner and two of my children for a Mothering Sunday treat. It was really lovely, the atmosphere was great with lots of other diners and,lots of very happy Mums ...... Myself included!! We went for the three course menu at £23 a head , all courses were presented beautifully, best roast beef dinner I have been lucky enough to have for sometime, well worth the trip!!! The manager Callum and his staff were all very attentive well done to you all. Must mention the chef who along with his team in the kitchen turned out some amazing food both in looks and taste !! If you haven't already been to Aurora I would urge you to go and experience the whole Aurora package, sitting by the waterfront in such a modern venue is just what Ipswich needed. Well done to you all ..... We shall defiantly be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for your kind review.

We're working really hard to create a unique Aurora experience and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed it so much.

Our Mother's Day menu proved extremely popular this year and we're glad that you had the day you deserved!

Best wishes,
Emma
Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    51
    26
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Have heard a lot about Aurora - so thought we would give it a go - went for a friends special Birthday for a dinner time special - 2 course or 3 course - We were not disappointed as the view from the Restaurant over the river was amazing you would think you could be any where in the world - it was mid week so alas we were the only people in the place which was a bit disappointing as the atmosphere was lacking.
We opted for the 2 course - Duck pate -and Sea bass for main - both were very well presented and very tasty.
We had a very nice bottle of wine - and small bread rolls to start - but could not fault the service and surroundings very modern and bright.
We opted for 2 coffees to finish our meal and i mentioned about any mints? The young girl then brought a plate decorated with Happy Birthday and some shortbreads and a few jellies over - which was a nice touch!!
Will go back at night to see if time of day makes all the difference!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

It's really important to us that we're getting the service right and with a few extra personal touches, such as the birthday plate, we're hopefully achieving this.

Our lunchtimes are picking up which will certainly improve the atmosphere, and as a new venue it's definitely something we're working on improving all the time.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best birthday lunch ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A surprise birthday lunch was organised for me today and 28 of my friends and family. The food was amazing and the service excellent. The restaurant was spacious with views over the river.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed your birthday! It was a pleasure to help you celebrate your special day and we hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A superb dining experience, would recommend to all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

An absolutely stunning meal at Aurora. Although visiting for some amazing cocktails in the bar on several occasions, this was the first time my partner and myself had eaten at the restaurant and we were not disappointed. The service was exceptional and the food both very well presented and filling. All three courses were cooked to perfection, my partner having the lamb for main and myself the rabbit. Cannot recommend highly enough. This is just the sort of place Ipswich has been waiting for and we will definitely be returning.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and review of Aurora.

We're delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable experience and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Star in the Making!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had dinner for two here, and first impressions were very good.
Restaurant - lovely setting, very modern, trendy ambience.
Food - fantastic standard, we loved the blackened mackerel, and steamed orange sponge was to die for! (I ate all my husbands!!) It was all presented beautifully and tasted very good.
Service - Excellent, Lee was very attentive, as were the waitresses.
Bread rolls - tiny, but exquisite, some more would be welcome!!
Only things to mention - menu was quite limited, and the cost - very expensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to review Aurora - we really appreciate it.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and our steamed pudding certainly seems to be well-received at the moment!

Thanks for the note about the rolls and although our menu is small, we do freshen it up every 3 and a half weeks so that there's something new to try on every visit.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aurora Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.