We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belstead Brook Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belstead Brook Hotel to your Saves list
Belstead Brook Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belstead Road, Ipswich IP2 9HB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Annual dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Annual neighbourhood meal. As usual, food was excellent. Empty plates all round. Service was excellent, very attentive and helpful (THANKS DARRYL). Menu was very varied, with great choices. 22 very happy residents!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
We delighted to learn that you had another excellent dinner. I will pass on your thanks to Darryl and the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next dinner

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    159
    77
    32
    18
See reviews for
60
197
23
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Have stayed here on many occasions and it is a very pretty location in Ipswich... You will enjoy the special English breakfast and the leisure pool is a treat too!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thanks for your review. We are fortunate to have some excellent facilities and are delighted you enjoy the services we provide.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night at this lovely old hotel. OK it is a little tired but some of it dates back to the 16th century! Service was very friendly and efficient. Dinner was delicious and very good value when booked in advance. The room was good, crisp white bedding, comfy towels and good tea-making equipment. TV a bit old but we weren't there to watch it. Plumbing a bit ancient but it worked well. Overall a very pleasant stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for posting your review and for your positive comments. We are hoping to replace the TV’s. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I recently stayed here with some friends and my partner for my 35th birthday. We booked a spa deal via spabreaks.

It was excellent value. I wasn't expecting too much as we had dinner, spa treatment and room upgrade included for a very good price. However, we were all very pleasantly surprised.

The rooms we stayed in (executive rooms) were large, attractive and very clean, each with a king (or maybe emperor) sized bed plus separate sofa area. We had some lovely flowers and homemade chocolates in the room which was a nice touch.

The area pool is lovely and very warm. Staff is the spa are excellent and very accommodating - this extends to the rest of the hotel staff. Small touches like a birthday candle with my dessert and permission to use the pool after check-out made the weekend extra special.

Dinner in the restaurant was very nice - the menu we had wasn't quite as appetising as the website menu but the quality of the food was good and there was enough choice. The restaurant itself has a lovely atmosphere, with various alcoves and sections rather than one big room. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice.

We had a fantastic time at the Belstead Brook and it exceeded expectations. So much so that we have agreed to return for another relaxing weekend later in the year.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room - it's only a small supplement and the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We were delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that you found the facilities and services we provided to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel later in the year.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

For the fifth consecutive year we spent an extended New Year celebration here. Although only 30 minutes drive away this is a hotel that we return to at other times just for a break and change of scenery. The down side of staying here is that this hotel, as with others in the chain, are in joint admnistrative receivership (this description is given to be by a member of staff) and as a consequence very, very little money has been spent on repairs and maintenance. If you can cope with the odd door knob falling off and faded bathroom hardware then you do not have a problem with staying here. General cleanliness etc. is not affected. The upsides are, and in my view this by far outweighs the negatives, is the extemely high quality restaurant and truly exceptional staff. Friendly, polite, helpful and and good old fashioned remembering who the customer is the attitude of all of the staff that you will meet. For example, one of our party is elderly and a wheel chair user, and the service received reflected some forethought about personal circumstances - what a refreshing change to the attitude found in most other hotels. Next New Year? - you bet! And before? - very, very likely.

Room Tip: We have only ever stayed in ground floor rooms and there is no advantage or disadvantage with choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you continue to use us on a regular basis and are happy with the services and facilities we provide. Your comments concerning our restaurant services are particularly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

went to the best new year party! Can not fault the food, the service and the staff. There was excellent entertainment. Was a great deal £200 each for party and an extra nights stay. will go to this again. And will stay at this hotel again and again! Would recommend the hotel and the new year party to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We were delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your New Year’s break with us, and we thank you for your comments. It is good for the team to receive positive feedback, and we take great encouragement from it. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Paid £90 for a room on new years eve, expected to be able to eat and have a drink at the bar as midnight came. Were not forewarned by the hotel that they had a new years eve function on for guests who booked as part of a 2 day break. This meant that we could not get meals at the hotel and were confined to a tiny bar while the other guests were served dinner in the main function room. We very rarely had a bar tender so decided to see if we could get served in the function room, we were told there by a member of staff that "we weren't allowed in as other guests had paid considerably more to be in there", we paid £90 per night, they had paid £100. We saw in NYE sat alone at a table in a shut bar while the guests they cared about enjoyed live music, food and drink.

Have never been treated so badly ever, not just at hotels but ever, anywhere. Wouldn't have stayed the night but had drunk too much to drive.

As for hotel, furniture old and worn, decor generally tired looking, had planned to use spa in the morning but just wanted to leave. Partner couldn't eat the breakfast we had paid for as she was so upset by the whole experience.

Have read reviews by people that had a good stay and can see that on another day we may have enjoyed it, it's a shame they treat some guests so differently to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBI, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Sorry that you were not informed when you made your booking that the only catering services available to guests not attending the pre-booked Gala Dinner Dance were on a Bed and Breakfast basis only. We thought that all guests had been advised of the limited services when booking. Our New Year’s Eve Gala Dinner Dance was fully booked and we regret that we were unable to permit other guests to casually join the event. New Year’s Eve is the only evening in the year our services are restricted in this way. I am sorry that you felt as it you were treated as second class citizens. I do hope you are able to stay with us at some time in the future and enjoy the use of our facilities.

Chris Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belstead Brook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belstead Brook Hotel

Address: Belstead Road, Ipswich IP2 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belstead Brook Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Belstead Brook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belstead Brook Ipswich
Hotel Belstead Brook
Belstead Brook Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belstead Brook Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.