We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really contemorary stylish hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Salthouse Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Starry Nights
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really contemorary stylish hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We didn't really know what to expect when we arrived at the Ipswich Docks but were totally happy with every aspect of our stay! Alot of thought has gone into making the hotel a fun modern destination and I will be going back!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    176
    55
    18
    10
See reviews for
59
412
19
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Loved this hotel. Quirky artwork, well thought out rooms. The bath in the bedroom overlooking the harbour was just splendid. Staff very friendly and professional.
Only downside is the dining room. Again adorned with great artwork but It is filled with the noise of scraping chairs across wooden floors which reminded me of my schooldays. (Guys - perhaps buy some rubber feet for the chairs)
The evening meal, although I enjoyed the meal, was overpriced (not of the standard you would expect for those prices).
There is a fantastic fish restaurant (Loch Fyne) around the corner which serves delicious food in an equally trendy place for more realistic prices.
That said. The hotel is wonderful. Stay, but not for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

This is one of the best hotels, could not fault a thing.
The staff are very professional, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Food excellent, comfy rooms.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We were in Ipswich for the week end. We didn't stay at this hotel because we stayed with friends but 10 of us ate in the restaurant on Saturday 30th. October. Fine dining can often be small portions of perfectly prepared food. This was as good as I have eaten anywhere. The food was truly fine dinning with sensible portions. The young staff were attentive but not intrusive. The restaurant is modern and busy although not noisy. We did find it very hot which I think is because of the lighting they have. I would suggest the air conditioning temperature is lowered a little. We will return but as hotel guests. If the hotel is as good as the restaurant then great.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed at the Salthouse for a month in Jan/Feb 2010 (My second stay). The hotel and restaurant staff were quite friendly and professional. They made me feel extremely at home and even go to know my breakfast preferences. They would chat a little with me as I sat in the lounge people-watching and having a snack with some wine.

The restaurant is excellent. The menu is a little different every day, so I never ran out of choices. I would estimate that I had dinner in the hotel 15-20 nights over the course of a month.

The room was twice the size of a standard UK room. You could have easily placed two king beds next to each other. I believe all of the rooms now have ~30" LCD HDTVs and a fair number of channels. There is free WiFi in all of the rooms and the lounge.

I could walk into the heart of Ipswich within ten minutes to shop or eat. The parking is a little tight (especially if you are used to parking in the states). Leave a few minutes to spare for your morning meeting as the porter may have to jockey a few cars to spring you free.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Everything about this hotel exceeded our expectations.

We stayed in a Sail Loft room booked on line for £130 incl breakfast - it's cheaper to book on line - tested this out by phoning the hotel too.

This type of room is in the new part of the hotel. We didn't pay extra for a marina view and didn't mind as we liked our roof top view - def. better than we were expecting. The cheaper (by £30) salthouse rooms were full and I'm glad they were, they are in the original part of the building, smaller and more rustic - all personal taste but we loved the newer more modern room.

It was a super contemporary room with really high quality gadgets, king size bed, quirky modern art, great bathroom, cafetiere and decent coffee - just couldn't fault it.

Had lovely drinks in the lounge, great choice of wine and drinks, not the cheapest but not too pricey for the surroundings - there are several bars nearby but we loved quirky art in the lounge in the hotel and the marina view.

Enjoyed a brilliant a la carte breakfast - all high quality and will return just to try the other optons as found it difficult to choose.

The restaurant menu looked good, want to try it next time.

Didn't use the car park as read that it was small and tight - it did look packed but there was a nice chap overseeing it so didn't look too bad.

Service was great too - still in shock that Ipswich now has such a fab place - think the best independent hotel we've stayed in the UK overall .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed here for the weekend and really enjoyed it. The hotel itself is really stylish and the staff are great - really enthusiastic without being too over the top.
Our room was lovely with a view over the marina, the bed exceptionally comfortable and there were nice touches everywhere - Emma Bridgewater mugs, plenty of tea and coffee and high quality toiletries - there was nothing at all to find fault with. If you were going to be fussy parking could be a problem - when we arrived there was a wedding party there so space was at a premium. However we left our keys with reception and a member of staff found a space - right outside the reception so there was no worry about the car not being safe.
The restaurant was busy on the saturday night we ate there - would recommend booking to avoid disappointment. The food was fabulous - very high quality and once again we were struck by the efficiency and enthusiasm of the staff - they really make an effort to ensure everything is done to make your meal/stay enjoyable. Breakfast the following morning was also very good - such a treat to have a breakfast cooked to order and brought to your table - not having to queue up at hot plates made a real change - as did hot toast!
We had a fabulous stay and would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ipswich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich’s vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel Suffolk goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and its popularity fills this delightful waterfront eatery as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour
Salthouse Harbour Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salthouse Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.