We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlton Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41-43 Berners Street, Ipswich IP1 3LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Stockholm
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not that bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

My starting point is that I pay £24,5 a night. For that I get off street parking, an above average full English breakfast and a central location (only a three minute walk from the city center). Fair enough. The host son I think, is a good man, the other guests no different than at other hostels. My bed linen was fine and so was the room. Our room was towards the street but it was no problem sleeping with an open window. Reading the reviews on here I was a bit sceptical staying here but this b&b is as good as any for £24,5 a night. Deal with confidence.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    13
    9
    22
See reviews for
4
10
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Very central B&B near the city centre and Portman Road. Nice full English breakfast. The room wasn’t that clean and the carpet disgusting. I don’t think they change the linens after every guest, found some nasty hair on it. I wouldn’t stay here at winter time, the window had no insulation and the street noise was pretty loud (thank God for earplugs).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Budget does not even come close. This place is grim. It is mainly occupied by benefit claimants waiting to be housed. People who run it are a joke, clueless. Food is awful, all cooked the eve before and reheated. Three stars my butt. That sign that says 3 stars was obviously stolen from another establishment. Buy a tent before you consider staying here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

If you want a cheap nights stay close to town centre with just the basics then this will suit. Was bit worried with the bad reviews, but it could be worse. Yes it's cold, not much heating, steep stairs, analogue tv, just a blanket on bed, but for the price and location what do you expect?? Good points, parking on front, 5 mins from town, family run? Breakfast home cooked, towels and shower fine, no toiletries included. Our room had a hole in the window, they moved us to another room that was better, so that was a result. Staff freindly, think they live across the road? Reception not manned, you press a button and I think they come over. Small hotel, 22 rooms, basic, but as I say, for the price, for town centre accomodation, it's good.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Well what can i say this hotel was an absolute disgrace, we had read these reviews before going there but thought it cant be that bad!!! BOY WERE WE WRONG!! Staff friendly enough but the hotel was dingy dirty and smelly!!!! When i got into my room i thought someone had left a duster in mky wardriobe but oooo know it was a massive pair of purple ladies knickers, quite funny really. The toilet was filthy the shower didnt work, i didnt stay for the breakfast in the morning i didnt fancy it somehow. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We booked 3 double ensuite rooms in this "hotel"for 2 nights. When we arrived we noticed on the second floor there was no window in one room at all and a man was fixing another window on same floor. We were allocated rooms on second floor which were old, dirty, dark and the stairs were dangerous. . We were actually allocated the room with the faulty windows. We complained and were given another room which we called a dungeon. We were all then moved to first floor rooms which were cleaner and brighter, but its a pity the showers would not work properly. The breakfast was ok if you like plenty of grease and oil. The only good point i could say about this place is that it is near the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Our rooms were clean and fresh. Everything was checked daily. Toilet cleaned, bins emptied etc. The management were very welcoming and very friendly. In a fairly quiet location. 5 mins walk to town centre. Breakfast very good. All in all very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 41-43 Berners Street, Ipswich IP1 3LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.