We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ipswich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Ipswich to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ipswich
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently good...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stay here quite allot. The staff are always friendly and helpful, Rachel in bookings always very good, quickly responding to booking requests etc. One of the great things is reception, particularly Jade always remembers my name, having room details ready - makes a customer feel valued, well done. The Gym facilities are also very good at this hotel.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Mike1333,

Thanks for the great review - we love 5 star reviews !!

Thanks also for the great feedback about the team, especially Rachel and Jade. We work hard to ensure our guests are happy, and I'm pleased this was the case for your stay.

Thanks again.

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    140
    67
    24
    12
See reviews for
50
94
19
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Arrived at Holiday inn 2.30 Friday afternoon for a long weekend. Warm Welcome from the reception staff however the room was not ready, but we were offered complimentary drinks while waiting. The hotel was clean, the room comfortable and a very convenient location for visiting Suffolk. Would recommend it and use it again if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear 3Vanessa,

Thanks for your review, and your recommendation.

Sorry your room wasn't ready, but pleased you enjoyed our hospitality.

I hope you enjoyed Suffolk, and please do stop by again.

Thank-you

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night - welcomed by very efficient young lady on Reception. Room we had was an executive room, very spacious, nice bathroom, very clean and comfortable.
Bar area nice and open, Restaurant good with very nice selection of food, buffet or a la carte.
Central location. Had previously stayed at the Holiday Inn - Orwell - Ipswich and this one was far far better - no comparison. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room if you can, on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Elizabth W,

Wow - 5 stars !! Thank-you.

It makes our hard work worthwhile.

I am pleased you had a great stay, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Was visiting Ipswich on business and after my 4 hour drive from the Midlands, I was completely shattered. The check in process was extremely slow which was disappointing. The hotel itself is clean and quite modern. The room was very nice and clean, shower excellent. Everything you could want really. I ordered room service and this was delivered promptly and was surprisingly good. I didn't realise the hotel had a pool, but popped down to the Tesco Extra about 1 min drive to the south, picked up some swimming shorts for £3 and enjoyed the pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Great facilities. Breakfast was good, standard Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Chrisb2331,

Thanks for the great review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in Ipswich.

Regards

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Handy for shops, park and ride and road connections. This hotel has the lot; big flat screen TV, teas and coffee facilities, free wifi in the lounge, great decor, luxury bathroom, fantastic pool area. It is difficult to find fault with this hotel, we even got a glass of champagne on arrival.

Room Tip: We had an internal room overlooking a bit of green so it was very quiet but expect most rooms are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear AlanJames66,

Wow - thank-you for the 5 star rating.

It's great to receive feedback such as yours - thank-you. I will be sure to share this with the team, who will be equally delighted.

Thank-you.

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed for one night on business and have no complaints. Friendly welcome at reception and was even offered a drink as I checked in. Bed was pretty comfy and the room had a mini fridge as well as a good sized LCD TV with HD channels optional movies. Leisure club has good facilities (which are free for guests to use) with gym, pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Plenty of parking and good location for Ipswich town. Rack rate is perhaps a little high(but then this is Holiday Inn and I normally stay at HI Express hotels as they tend to offer better value) but I did manage to get a decent rate through one of the online booking sites. It may be worth calling beforehand to ask what their best rate is. My only little niggle was the towels! The bath towels were more like oversized hand-towels and were so rough I could have sanded furniture with them. Would stay again but may take my own towels next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mike M,

Thank-you so much for taking the time to post such great comments about your stay. I have a great team here at the Holiday Inn Ipswich, and we do all work hard to ensure our guests are satisfied, so comments such as yours are really appreciated.

Thank-you

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Went to the Holiday Inn for two nights. the usual efficient and friendly staff, and the place was
very clean however we booked an executive room, the room itself was very good, fridge stocked with beer, wine soft drinks snacks etc as part of the deal but the bathroom was tiny, I had difficulty actually getting out of the bath and my wife was black and blue. The buffet breakfast was very good. the black spot was the Wednesday evening meal we decided to eat in the restaurant, booked a table after perusing the menu and we fancied the pork chop dinner, however when we got to the restaurant the menu was different to the one displayed, there was no pork chop dinner, there was a pork escallop, but that was off, this at 7-30 with about five diners in evidence, so I opted for fish and my wife ordered a cheese omelette, it was the worst omelette she has ever had, overcooked and rubbery. my fish looked as though it had been thrown onto the plate it was served with the bottom uppermost and spread over the potatoes I am still looking for the lemon wedge, the waitress was very good offered a different meal but we declined and we had a free dessert and coffee and did not pay for my wife's meal, the waitress gave me the manager's card and said that we were to contact him, I emailed him when we got home on the Friday and now five days later I am still waiting for him to get back to me. I probably will stay at a Holiday Inn again but not this one, perhaps Wednesday was the chef's night off?

Room Tip: Don't book the executive rooms they are the farthest away from the bar etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Turnbull,

I am sorry that you were still disappointed with the outcome of your complaint while you were here. Your omelette was freshly prepared as an off menu item, I am sorry you did not enjoy it. As you explained, we did refund you on the night, and following your stay, I refunded you in full for your entire meal.

I would invite yourself, and all my guests to call me on my mobile phone number (which is provided at check-in) if you have a pressing issue which you feel needs immediate attention.

Thank-you for the positive comments about the team, and the other aspects of your stay.

Kind regards

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich

Address: London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A12/A14 interchange, this Ipswich hotel is only 4 miles from Ipswich Town Centre and Ipswich Football Club. Close to all amenities and a perfect base for visiting East Anglia, including the Suffolk beaches at Felixstowe & Aldeburgh, Constable Country & Dedham. A relaxed, informal hotel, ideal for business close to Adastral Park, or pleasure, together with a welcoming atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel has 108 guest bedrooms, all with air-conditioning & wireless high speed internet access. All of our bedrooms are non smoking - we have 20 Executive rooms, a selection of Family guest rooms and inter-connecting rooms. Our guests can also make use of the ample free car parking on site. Guests can enjoy dining and relaxing in the restaurant with an extensive choice off the A la Carte Menu or one of our Chef's Specials, and a bar which offers a wide range of refreshments, lighter meals and snacks. Kids also Stay & Eat Free*. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and Beauty Rituals beauty therapist. The hotel has 8 conference rooms and we can accommodate one to one interviews, or up to 120 delegates theatre style. We offer competitive 24hr rates and Day Delegate packages. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ipswich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.