We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ipswich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Ipswich to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ipswich
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Southampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn London Road Ipswich UK

Large FREE Car Park

The Staff were excellent, a slight problem with our booking was soon sorted

The Room was 1st Class, Plenty of towels and Tea/Coffee making bits, Very quite

The Breakfast, had plenty of choices from Fruit, Cereals to Hot Food and Pastries a real GOOD start to the day

Stay here and you will NOT be disappointed

GEOFFTRAVELER

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Geoff Traveller,

Many thanks for staying with, and many thanks for posting the great comments about your stay.

All of our guests tend to love our free car park, especially as you can park close to one of our three entrances, which means you can be close to your room.

I was pleased our team were able to remedy any issues you had, and that you enjoyed your room, and the breakfast !!

Thanks again for taking the time to post about your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    140
    67
    24
    12
See reviews for
50
94
19
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

You get what you pay for at Holiday Inns and this was no exception - couldn't complain about any part or the stay but nothing overwhelmed me as being exceptional.
Room was fine but the bathroom was a little cramped.
Dinner and breakfast were both good with plenty of choice.
Drinks are very expensive (£4 for a bottle of Peroni !)
Didn't use the pool (forgot my trunks :() but seemed busy at night with an exercise class.
Would stay again if need to be overnight in Ipswich.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Marc B,

Many thanks for staying with us, and thanks also for your great comments about the hotel.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for one night in October and were made very welcome, the room was clean and comfortable we had dinner in the evening which was fine ,also a good breakfast in the morning, one downside is there is no lift but they did offer to take our bags up to our room.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time post your comments about your stay with us.

I was pleased you enjoyed your stay, and similarly pleased that you enjoyed both your dinner and breakfast.

Unfortunately while we have a small platform lift for wheelchair users to go up a small flight of stairs, we do not have a lift to go up to the first floor. Please do request a ground floor room when making your reservation, and we will try to accommodate you if we can.

Thanks again for your great feedback, and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just spent a great weekend away at this Holiday Inn and was pleasantly surprised how nice it is,We are slightly disabled and requested a larger bathroom which we was given,it was huge and spotlessly clean.The room itself was lovely also.The tea and coffee was a great touch and the iron and hair dryer was a bonus.The hotel has a lovely swimming pool which we used each day we was there. The staff were very nice and helpful.It is in a convienient position with lovely grounds beautifully kept .The down side if any was food and drink are very pricey so we went out to eat all the time,also it was quite noisy outside the rooms when guests came back at night as it was the weekend.We really enjoyed our stay and would book again.

Room Tip: we requested a larger bathroom and we got a huge room and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Bensnan,

I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank-you very much for the great feedback you gave following your stay.

We will look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Ipswich.

Bets wishes.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stay at this hotel at least once a month. The rooms are comfortable with fresh towels, toiletries, ironing facilities, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. The spa is lovely and the breakfast (pay in advance when you check in) is plentiful and will have something for everyone. Good access to A12/A14 which makes getting around pretty easy. We book through hotwire (usually about ten days in advance) and get a double room with a bed for a child (teenager) for £37.00 for the night so it really does pay to shop around and book early.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback.
I was pleased you like the facilities in the rooms, as well as the spa. We love our breakfast here at the Holiday Inn Ipswich, so I am pleased you enjoyed it too, and that you took advantage of our breakfast vouchers. You may in fact get a slightly better deal if you pay for breakfast at time of booking...perhaps one for you to consider next time you stay.
Glad you got a great rate.
We will look forward to welcome you back.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

went here with my husband for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it the hotel staff were very welcoming and very helpful the room was lovely we stayed in the executive very airy and roomy linen was changed every day and the room was cleaned everyday the breakfast was really good and set you up for the day the gym and swimming pool was an added bonus really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: any room would be good as it is set in its own grounds away from the main road so it is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Allison W,

Many thanks for your great feedback about our hotel. I was pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially pleased that you found the staff very welcoming.

We will look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Ipswich.

Many thanks again.

Paul Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for 4 nights, the hotel is in a great location for site-seeing Suffolk with good road links and the Ipswich Park n Ride a 10 minute walk away. We made good use of the excellent pool and gym facilities every morning and evening. The only down side is the very expensive food from the hotel bar which is very over-priced for basic bar meals. I'm sure more guests would eat there if each meal was a few pounds cheaper, however, there are alternatives with a half decent pub and pizza restaurant a mile or so away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback on your stay.

I was pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, our facilities and our pool. It was disappointing to read about how expensive you felt the bar and food prices were. We do offer special meals on some nights of the week which include 1 or 2 drinks, and in addition we have themed buffets that prove very popular with our guests. Similarly families tend to take advantage of our "kids eat free" promotion (when dining with an adult).

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future, and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks again.

Paul Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich

Address: London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A12/A14 interchange, this Ipswich hotel is only 4 miles from Ipswich Town Centre and Ipswich Football Club. Close to all amenities and a perfect base for visiting East Anglia, including the Suffolk beaches at Felixstowe & Aldeburgh, Constable Country & Dedham. A relaxed, informal hotel, ideal for business close to Adastral Park, or pleasure, together with a welcoming atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel has 108 guest bedrooms, all with air-conditioning & wireless high speed internet access. All of our bedrooms are non smoking - we have 20 Executive rooms, a selection of Family guest rooms and inter-connecting rooms. Our guests can also make use of the ample free car parking on site. Guests can enjoy dining and relaxing in the restaurant with an extensive choice off the A la Carte Menu or one of our Chef's Specials, and a bar which offers a wide range of refreshments, lighter meals and snacks. Kids also Stay & Eat Free*. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and Beauty Rituals beauty therapist. The hotel has 8 conference rooms and we can accommodate one to one interviews, or up to 120 delegates theatre style. We offer competitive 24hr rates and Day Delegate packages. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ipswich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.