We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaturka

Alaturka
9 Great Colman Street, Ipswich IP4 2AA, England
+44 1473 233448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 344 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional yet modern!Alaturka Restaurant is a perfect place to enjoy a meal in the friendly and relaxing atmosphere or to host your special event whatever it is…We serve good quality food at affordable prices. We have a wide selection of meals of Turkish cuisine the heritage of Ottoman Empire. Come to Alaturka for a delicious meal with great service.Alaturka PromiseThe secret of Turkish cuisine is a mixture between the spices and the main ingredients, achieving a delicate balance that enhances the taste of each. At Alaturka we have fresh local produce delivered every day and our food is all made with natural ingredients.
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We found this place on the Tastecard phone app so popped in for dinner before heading to the Regent for a show. The main course was incredible, the dessert was ok and the service was very good. We even got a complimentary starter of bread & olives - complimentary isn't a word you hear in British Restaurants much these days!

£30 for 2 main courses, 2 desserts, a beer and a Turkish wine (with a Tastecard).

This is my first time in a proper Turkish restaurant and I'm definitely going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    65
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nice food and very friendly service from main lady in the restaurant, however felt it was very expensive for the amount of meat you got with the main meal. Also found the service charge hefty, we weren't forewarned about that and saw no mention of it on their website. Therefore reluctant to return to this restaurant in the future. My granddaughter also incurred a hefty charge for just chips, salad and bread!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A worthy alternative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Visited this restaurant midweek quite early in the evening. The staff/owners were very friendly and we were able to interact beyond the functions of taking orders and delivery of food which is always really nice. The menu was an exciting taste of turkey predictably with lots of lamb but also lots of alternatives including sea food, chicken and veggie options. I choose the spicy prawns while my friend went for the lamb kebabs, both were excellent and much enjoyed.

Because the menu, price and customer service was so good I will be back to confidently explore further.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

So so good to see real turkish food other than smelly kebabs!! Literally amazing and everything I've tried from here is amazing, and i've had quite a number of dishes!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bit disapointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Reading really good reviews I had high hopes. The service was good and the food ok, but felt portions were small and price a bit high for what it was. It was also very dark, I struggled to read the menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaturka also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Alaturka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaturka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.