We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaturka

Alaturka
9 Great Colman Street, Ipswich IP4 2AA, England
+44 1473 233448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 345 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional yet modern!Alaturka Restaurant is a perfect place to enjoy a meal in the friendly and relaxing atmosphere or to host your special event whatever it is…We serve good quality food at affordable prices. We have a wide selection of meals of Turkish cuisine the heritage of Ottoman Empire. Come to Alaturka for a delicious meal with great service.Alaturka PromiseThe secret of Turkish cuisine is a mixture between the spices and the main ingredients, achieving a delicate balance that enhances the taste of each. At Alaturka we have fresh local produce delivered every day and our food is all made with natural ingredients.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best value for money in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

With quality ingredients and great service this is still one of the best value for money restaurants in Ipswich.
Last time I went I had the goats cheese starter, from the July specials, and it was done to perfection. Nicely caramelised outside and soft and gooey inside.So hard to get just right.
As always the lamb is tender.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    67
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Second time here & still great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Friendly staff, just wish this place has more recognition! Gorgeous food!! Try the Alaturka Special. Yum yum. Also had the lamb on the bone. Cooked to perfection. Didn't even need a knife! Falafels are good too. Lots for veggies. Will be coming back :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed Atmosphere and Lovely Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a lovely resteraunt with friendly, professional and polite staff. We felt very well looked after. The food was delicious, starting with fresh baked bread and finishing with good Turkish tea. In between was tasty, fresh and well cooked food. Would definately recommend as this is a lovely place to eat in Ipswich!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I took my husband to Alaturka for his birthday meal.
We shared the mixed platter to start which we both enjoyed.
The staff were very attentive,but not over the top.
We will certainly return here for another meal , I must say the restaurant exceeded our expectations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellant :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was the third time I have been to Alaturka and each time it has been faultless. The food is fantastic and the service is always fast and so friendly. There is so much choice on the menu, and the staff are always willing to provide recommendations. Definately deserves its #1 ranking!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaturka also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Alaturka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaturka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.