We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Birthday Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaturka

Alaturka
9 Great Colman Street, Ipswich IP4 2AA, England
+44 1473 233448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 339 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional yet modern!Alaturka Restaurant is a perfect place to enjoy a meal in the friendly and relaxing atmosphere or to host your special event whatever it is…We serve good quality food at affordable prices. We have a wide selection of meals of Turkish cuisine the heritage of Ottoman Empire. Come to Alaturka for a delicious meal with great service.Alaturka PromiseThe secret of Turkish cuisine is a mixture between the spices and the main ingredients, achieving a delicate balance that enhances the taste of each. At Alaturka we have fresh local produce delivered every day and our food is all made with natural ingredients.
Ipswich
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I took my husband to Alaturka for his birthday meal.
We shared the mixed platter to start which we both enjoyed.
The staff were very attentive,but not over the top.
We will certainly return here for another meal , I must say the restaurant exceeded our expectations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    65
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellant :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was the third time I have been to Alaturka and each time it has been faultless. The food is fantastic and the service is always fast and so friendly. There is so much choice on the menu, and the staff are always willing to provide recommendations. Definately deserves its #1 ranking!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food. Good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Ive been here a number of times and never disappoints, which is handy when bringing friends from out of town. Originally found on groupon and favourably reviewed by word of mouth I think it deservedly sits in the top ten of Ipswich restaurants. The menu could do with possibly adding a few other dishes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mid week dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service and quality good value food. Well worth a visit and we will go again. We went for the traditional menu items and were not disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Sadly didn't live up to expectation and service was polite but slow. Food ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We'd had such good reviews from others perhaps we were expecting too much! But they were so busy that having arrived at 7.45 to not get to our mains till 9.45 was pretty poor and the food was ok but not exceptional. Maybe we were just unlucky

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaturka also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Alaturka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaturka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.