We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Indian indeed...!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Palace

Indian Palace
39 Upper Orwell street, Ipswich, England
01473 212414
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 344 Restaurants in Ipswich
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian indeed...!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was my first visit to this restaurant. We went there on a Sunday afternoon and the place was almost empty.

The food was as spicy as it would be in a South Indian restaurant. The Chicken 65 was great.
I would highly recommend Chettinadu Chicken to those who can handle high amount of spices.

Loved the food and will visit it often.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always excellent, best Indian in Ipswich.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a family meal here last weekend and everything about it was excellent.

The service is very friendly and they were in no way pushy. We had various dishes on the table, some of which were the more traditional ones (Tikka Masala, Rogan Josh (which is the best RJ I've ever tasted!) etc) and some that are not usually on the menu at Indians. ALL of them were superb. Personally, I highly recommend the Chicken Chettinadu.

Also, take a look at the menu, the value for money is 5 out of 5.

My mums in a wheelchair and they had no issue accommodating her and helping us get her in and out of the restaurant.

We have been 3 or 4 times before and every time is the same - Excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have been here a few times before and always enjoyed the food and pleased with the service and friendly welcome, but last night they excelled themselves. 16 of us went there for my parents 50th wedding anniversary and we could not find fault with anything, the staff were so helpful in every way, even down to the decorating of the tables (and walls!). Then there is the food, it was as always wonderful, good quality and very tasty. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough. Thank you for helping make my parents anniversary special.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff - great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times now and never disappointed with the quality of the food. Staff very friendly but on a busy Saturday night could do with more of them. Had a table for four, waited far to long for drink order, and between the starters and main courses, simply due to not enough staff. Food never disappoints and I would recommend the Kerala Porotta in place of the traditional naan. Just sort out the staff levels guys!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service, what service?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I went here as part of a large group for an evening out. After taking all the orders it was a long time before the starters came out and this was only in dribs and drabs. Unfortunalty, before people had finished their starters the main courses started coming out, but people were only getting their meat dishes and others were just getting their rice......few were getting all the food they had ordered. In the end there were people who did not get their complete meals.....which resulted in a lot of unhappy and unimpressed customers! The food itself was neither good or bad.....just standard, UK Indian food....nothing authentic or appetising. The drinks orders were also messed up several times and the drinks were slow to come out.....I would never go back there for a meal.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Palace also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Indian Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.