We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turquoise - CLOSED

Turquoise
25 St. Nicholas Street, Ipswich IP1 1TW, England
01473 281131
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $43
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Turquoise Restaurant present on its menu a complimentary selection of classic mezzes and mains from finest Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine.Fresh meat, fish and poultry is traditionally prepared with authentic herbs ans spices by our dedicated chefs paying particular attention to detail and warmth typical of the Turkish culture. Such hospitality, coulpled with the restaurant's relaxed and sophisticated ambiance, completes the superb culinary experience whether an intimate candlelit dinner for two an enjoyable night out with the family or a large party booking let or friendly and efficient team turn your dinner into a great occasion.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a delicious set menu lunch here. Very friendly staff and interesting ambience! We are looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    24
    18
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in delivering poor customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The waiter did not offer us a beverage menu and so one member of my party ordered a turkish beer - this was £9 per pint!!! I ordered a coke - £3.50 and he offered us table water and in some restaurants this is free with the meal, however, this cost is £4. So far then the drinks have come to £16.50 WITHOUT us knowing until the bill is presented. I then ordered the LARGE vegetarian Imam Bayildi expecting it to be more substantial than a small portion. However, the description is 'Baby aubergine filled with shredded onion, garlic, mediterranean parsley and tomato' and this restaurant is unusual in that ALL of the ingredients are listed in the description, no more are added. It was a glorified tomato paste (with no texture) on an aubergine sliced into many pieces to make it look like more was on the plate.

The other member of my party ordered Karniyarik - Baked aubergine filled with mince beef & lamb with herbs in tomato sauce, served with braised rice and yoghurt. He enjoyed the meal but the portion was small as was mine and so we left hungry, unable to afford the desserts all at £6.50 each!!! We both were shocked by the cost of the drinks and small portion sizes. We will not be returning and would not recommend this to anyone as the 'waiter' was actually a salesman who only answered direct questions and it was unfortunate that the restaurant did not introduce us to Turkish culture with a view to wanting to learn and enjoy more food. Overall we spend nearly £40 for two people and left hungry and poor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous food. Great experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We've been meaning to go here for a while so as we'd used the car park over the road we decided to lunch here. We initially thought about just sharing a meze platter but the main menu lured us to have something bigger.
We had the shared breads and olives to start. A little over priced at £6.50 ( the only reason I didn't give 5 stars) but absolutely lovely.
I had the hollumi main and OH had the lamb shank. Both were fabulous. Great tastes and just the right amount.

Atmosphere was lovely. Nice music and the waiter was great.

We shared some mint tea which was perfect.

So just over £30 for two for lunch. Fantastic food but a couple pounds too much I think.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Somthing different, good for couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I went to celebrate our anniversary. It was a nice atmosphere, quiet, cosy, with Turkish music in the background. The main waiter was very friendly and filled our wine glasses up everytime they were becoming empty. I had the best lamb shank i've ever tasted, it just fell off the bone! Presentation was great. A little pricey for the starters but was a nice treat and was nice to go somwhere different and cultured to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's ok, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with colleagues while in Ipswich on a Wednesday evening. The restaurant was very quiet when we arrived, there was one diner when we arrived and a party six arrived as we left.

I'm not experienced with Turkish cuisine, so asked the waiter for advice. The food was tasty but the skewered lamb had no accompaniments and can't really be eaten on its own. Sadly each dish is separately priced, so the meal is expensive. The total for two courses, no pudding, and a couple of bottles of beer was £30 which I felt was expensive.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turquoise also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turquoise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.