We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 - 18 Ipswich Road, Ipswich IP6 0AR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Long Beach NSW Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Originally booked into an associated hotel that suddenly found they could not accommodate us we ended up at the Claydon Country House Hotel. On appearance, we thought oh oh! No need to worry, all was good on checking in and a late roast lunch proved excellent.
Our room at the front of the hotel was standard in size, quite clean and with precious little water pressure. A noisy room as it was, makes me wonder why they hive such accommodation off first when they know it will not please too many folk to be woken by motorbikes screaming past in the wee hours. There were plenty of rooms available towards the rear.
Breakfast was first class and the staff very pleasant. Evening meals were very good and whilst there is a slightly cheaper meal option over the road it is not worth the walk.
Laundry items a bit expensive but unavoidable I suppose.
The bottom line, as always is:- would we stay again? Yes, now we know more - definitely asking for a room away from the front.

Room Tip: Ask for room toward the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWClaydonHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I do appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review. I am pleased that the team looked after you well during your stay and apologise that the room was not exactly to your liking. I hope you will return if you ever visit this area again.

Kind regards
Heather Billing
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    50
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
45
7
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel building is attractive. There is adequate car parking. The air conditioning was lovely on the hot day of our stay. This was just as well as our window looked down on a fish and chip shop. Not quite the view we expected from a hotel calling itself a country house.
The room was not large, and was dominated by an oversized wardrobe, but it was adequate.
The shower room was so small I had to back onto the WC, and the paper holder intruded into the small space.
The restaurant was stylish and the food delicious, although the choice was rather limited. The waiters seemed very busy.
I didn't like being asked to pay for the room before we had even seen it, and the final bill was not itemised, which meant the receptionist had to speculate what the entries were for. She did remove one item which baffled us all.
Overall though we had a good time and I would stay again, but in a different room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the fish and chip shop
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWClaydonHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and am sorry that we did not quite meet your expectations with others. It is the hotels policy to take payment on arrival for the room, then take card details on the system to cover any extras. The country house was obviously in situ before the chip shop and unfortunately this is beyond our control. I do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

i was a little worried as the price was cheaper than the local Premier Inn and Travelodge but I need not have worried. A well located and comfortable hotel. Our room was huge, clean and comfortable. The room had 2 sleigh beds which looked great and were really comfortable. The room also had wonderful air conditioning which helped as it was very warm. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful and there is a great little pub directly opposite the hotel. We had a great time here and I can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWClaydonHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope that you will return to us in the future.

Kind regards
Heather Billing
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Well, trepidation with Best Western but it was convenient and relatively affordable for 2 bednights for self and wife. Echo the comments opposite: small rooms, clean and tidy, good friendly reception, banging doors and welcome air conditioning.

now for the saga! virtually no cold water at the washbasin, reported to recep. on night of arrival, fair enough, not a lot could be done then but promised attention next day. 2nd evening hot and cold only dribbling, back late so lived with it. reported again at checkout next morning to genuinely friendly recep. now here's the bit - standing at recep was a man in an old t-shirt who disputed my complaint and said it was "alright when he tried it the previous afternoon". we had a disagreement as to the h&c running rate! having been unshaven as a consequence that morning it was not the attitude I would have expected from a 4* establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWClaydonHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We did have a problem with the water in the room and the maintenance man and the housekeeping staff had checked the room during the second day of your stay, there appeared to be no problem with the sink on both of these occasions. However when you raised the issue again at checkout a plumber was called in and a blending valve had to be replaced. The plumber assures us that only when the toilet was flushed and water still filling would this have the effect of no or limited water coming from the basin taps - as the blending valve did not work and so could not direct water to both outlets. So I apologise profusely that we were unable to rectify this fault during your stay. The hotel was fully booked at the time so there was not an option to relocate you after the first night. I can only apologise on behalf of the hotel that your expectations were not met on this occasion.

Kind regards
Heather Billing
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Recently stayed at Claydon for two weeks whilst working near Ipswich and found this hotel to be just right for work/business. Comfortable room, good restaurant, friendly staff. Near enough to Ipswich to be useful and far enough away to be quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWClaydonHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Many thanks for your review, I am pleased we ticked the right boxes for you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I will pass your comments on to the team.

Kind regards
Heather Billing
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Two night stay with my wife. Very friendly, helpful staff. Good access to area. Not in the country so don't be fooled by name. Very good food. Disappointed by size of room - for a deluxe room it was quite small and warm at night as I couldn't get aircon on a setting that suited. If the location is right for you then a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWClaydonHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am pleased that overall you had a pleasant stay. I am sorry that you had some problems with your air conditioning unit and will have it checked by maintenance today to ensure there is not a fault.

I will pass your comments on to all of the team and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards
Heather Billing
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross-on-wye
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have given full marks at for this hotel and I'll tell you why....

- Receptionist extremely friendly & helpful
- Airconditioning in my room: I stayed on the hottest part of the year and it was most welcome
- Free WiFi that worked really well
- Everything spotlessly clean

The only critcism would be that the rooms are quite small; the bath quite narrow and that meant the shower curtain too close for comfort when showering

I would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWClaydonHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit this review, we are pleased you had a good stay with us and hope that you will use our services again in the future. I will give this fabulous feedback to the team and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Heather Billing
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel

Address: 16 - 18 Ipswich Road, Ipswich IP6 0AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel is handily situated off the A14 and only 5 miles West of Ipswich town centre. A spacious country house hotel, it offers rural character as well as modern convenience. That makes it the perfect venue for business trips and stop-overs! Small enough to ensure individual attention, yet spacious enough for a comfortable stay, this smart hotel is a real gem. A Victorian style dining room and picturesque gardens only add to the appeal! Excellent road links to Norwich, Colchester and Cambridge make the hotel a great place to do business. You'll have everything you need onsite, and you'll never be far from the area's many recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ipswich
Ipswich Best Western
BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.