We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60th Birthday celebrations - 24th March 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 - 18 Ipswich Road, Ipswich IP6 0AR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“60th Birthday celebrations - 24th March 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

22 of us, in the beautiful Crystal Restaurant. The staff helpful and friendly, the room beautifully set out. The food was absolutely perfect the staff were so precise, all the guests were eating at the same time (not one plate late), the dishes were 'Master chef' presented - I'm sure John & Greg would have loved the presentation, 'fresh vegetables (not frozen) real roast potatoes, the desserts were stunning, it truly was a memorable afternoon. The birthday boy was spolied rotten. We are already planning the next family get together!

Room Tip: didnt stay over
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWClaydonHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
How lovely to hear that you all enjoyed your event in the restaurant at Claydon. This wonderful feedback will be passed on to all the team and we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back for future events.
Thank you for your fabulous review.

Kind regards
Heather Billing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    50
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
45
7
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you don't need to be right in the town centre then try this charming hotel. A good location, close to major routes and 10 minutes from Ipswich and free on site car parking.
Very welcoming reception with good , helpful staff. I chose room service after a long journey and it was served quickly, hot and without fuss. Quality of the food was exceptional [the lamb was to die for]
My room was spacious, clean if not a little cold on arrival. Overall a good experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWClaydonHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing our hotel, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit again in the future.

Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Sunday lunch for five people. If the heating was switched on it was set to 1 out of 10. Eating lunch with your coat on isn't much fun. Maybe the staff took the hint, maybe not as I think the only rise in temperature during the 2 hours we were there was most likely body-heat generated.
Guests are shown to a holding area before being shown to their table. Normally this is fine but this area has a door to the outside (which was very cold) so every time a guest enters, the temperature plummets. Probably fine in the summer but not too good with temperatures at freezing.
The food was just OK, nothing to get excited about. A delay between the main courses plates arriving and the accompanying vegetables makes for cold meat. Small changes in timing would make a better dining experience. Cold desert served on warm plates is not a good match. The wine is unlikely to win many awards. It was all cooked well though, the beef was ok and of sufficient quantity, the carrots were cooked correctly, the roast potatoes were ok (no need for dried herbs on top), the swede could have been used in barrel-based weaponry.
The staff were polite, although the young work-force looked like they would have rather been in bed on a Sunday morning - being cheerful does not cost anything (and you don't even have to mean it).
Overall - just OK, could be much better with just a few tweaks here and there.

Room Tip: Unable to say as only had lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWClaydonHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel, I am sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience. I will most certainly look in to all the points you have raised in this review.

Regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here for one night for business. Hotel is very easy to find literally 1/2 mile from the A14.
The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful. My room was a little dated decor wise but the bed was very comfortable and the room lovely and warm, especially as it was below freezing and had snowed on my day of travel. I ate in the restaurant and had the service was excellent and the food delicious. Ideal little hotel for business travel and would definitely use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is good to hear positive comments and I will most certainly pass your comments on to the team.

I hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a lovely meal with friends here. Can not comment on the rooms but the service was geat and the meal was lovely. Why drive when there is a great establishment locally you can walk to for those special meals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of the restaurant at Claydon. It is always a pleasure to receive good feedback from local people and hope that you will enjoy more occasions with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and I will pass your comments on to the team.

Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at Claydon House while on business recently. The lady on reception was very pleasant and efficient. I would have liked to eat in the hotel but was informed that they had a large party in and food would take some time, however it seemed very popular which is always a good sign. The room was very tired, the internet connection hopeless and the shower could barely muster a fine mist. Still the bed was comfortable but the walls are thin and it gets quite noisy. If it's raining take your wellies because if you end up in the overflow carpark you are going to get muddy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate you for dinner on this occasion and hope that if you stay again you will dine with us. I apologise that you experienced some problems in your room and I will try to establish which room you were allocated and look into those for you. We have recently upgraded our server and appear to have had some teething problems with the internet which are hopefully now resolved.
I do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We recently held a dinner party to celebrate our golden wedding.
From the time we booked the venue,several months ago,the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. On the day the function room was set up for us to add flowers and decorations, 33 relatives and friends to enjoy a wonderful meal prepared by chef Frankie and his staff.
Everyone agreed it had been a lovely evening and for ourselves after fifty years of marriage an occasion to remember and would reccomend this hotel. Thank you again Heather and staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am so pleased you enjoyed your event at the hotel for your Golden wedding, it was a pleasure to look after you all.

The team will be very happy to receive this positive feedback from you and I will make sure I pass your comments on to all of them.

I hope we can welcome you back to Claydon in the future.

Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel

Address: 16 - 18 Ipswich Road, Ipswich IP6 0AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel is handily situated off the A14 and only 5 miles West of Ipswich town centre. A spacious country house hotel, it offers rural character as well as modern convenience. That makes it the perfect venue for business trips and stop-overs! Small enough to ensure individual attention, yet spacious enough for a comfortable stay, this smart hotel is a real gem. A Victorian style dining room and picturesque gardens only add to the appeal! Excellent road links to Norwich, Colchester and Cambridge make the hotel a great place to do business. You'll have everything you need onsite, and you'll never be far from the area's many recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ipswich
Ipswich Best Western
BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.