We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Ipswich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Ipswich to your Saves list
Novotel Ipswich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grey Friars Road, Ipswich IP1 1UP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NOVOTEL SPRING OFFER
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for a football weekend. The location of the hotel is great with the town center on the doorstep and the football ground 5 minutes walk away. The rooms are slightly small but have basic modern decor as does the rest of the hotel. Because of the location, you do hear traffic & the clock bell tolls during the evening.

When it comes to prices the hotel becomes expensive.

They charge £7 per night to park your car. If you decide to have breakfast it's £14 unless you book before 5pm the day before, then it's £10. Why it's only a buffet!

If you drink a small bottle of water from the mini bar that's £2.50 a bottle

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Ipswich Centre. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    220
    78
    23
    12
See reviews for
84
142
49
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed just one night.

Good points:
+ Helpful and pleasant reception staff
+ General hotel decor and room facilities
+ No extra fee for (barrier) car park
+ No extra fee for wi-fi

Disappointments
- Traffic noise
- Breakfast service needs a shake up. I can't make out why the 2 staff couldn't cope with clearing the dirty breakfast tables. Staff walked past 2 dirty tables for the 30 minutes that I had breakfast several times without clearing them meanwhile people were being asked to wait in the bar area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Ipswich Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about Breakfast Service, which we are addressing.
Kind regards
Serhan Ilker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel is in a decent location for getting around Ipswich. The rooms are decent and basic and the bed was comfortable enough. We received a discounted rate and would stay again if we received this rate. Overall, a decent stay in Ipswich! Parking is not included and if I remember correctly was 7gbp a night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Novotel in Ipswich very soon.
Kind regards,
Serhan ilker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a typical business hotel - a little dated in places but recently renovated. The rooms are fairly small - comfy beds (foam matresses though) and free wi-fi which is very slow. If you want to do any work, you'll have to pay for the premium wi-fi option. Breakfast was good. There isn't that much parking at the hotel - bear this in mind when booking. For £90 including breakfast it was 'average'. Certainly not the best but certainly not the worst!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and also we beleive that the free WiFi we provide in our hotel is suitable to web surfing, receiving and sending e-mails and other basic web base applications however we highly recommend to our guest to go for Premium WiFi, if they wish to make video conferencing, streaming movies or music, sharing videos. In the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Ipswich Centre very soon.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago. Great central location, good nights sleep and brilliant staff on reception. Car Park should be included in the room rate, but overall I would stay here again with no qualms at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Ipswich Centre again very soon.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ipswich

Address: Grey Friars Road, Ipswich IP1 1UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ipswich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ipswich
#6 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ipswich 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Ipswich is ideally located in the thriving town centre of Ipswich. Offering 101 newly refurbished rooms including 10 Executive and 15 Superior rooms, the hotel is perfect for a business trip or conference in Ipswich with a business centre, Six meeting rooms as well as Free high speed WiFi Internet access. At the end of an eventful day, relax in the hotel bar and enjoy a meal in our Elements restaurant, which also offers 24 hours room service. Onsite pay parking for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Novotel
Novotel Ipswich Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Ipswich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.