We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Charge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brasserie

The Brasserie
16 Falcon Street, Ipswich ip1 1sl, England
+44 1473 230185
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 345 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $16 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to The Brasserie. . . True to the definition of the word, The Brasserie offers "simple and hearty food in an unpretentious atmosphere." We pride ourselves on our use of local ingredients, fresh fish and meats, and offer a variety of modern European dishes as well as traditional British favourites. Dining with us is all about you. Whether it be a family gathering, business lunch, birthday or romantic meal for two, our friendly and efficient staff are always on hand to ensure you have everything you need.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Service Charge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I have eaten at this restaurant many times and always had a good meal so to celebrate a friend going on maternity leave a group of us went on a Monday night, it was quite and apart from us there were only 2 other people in the place.
The food as always was excellent and when it came time to pay the bill we all put our money together only to find when the bill was presented there was a service charge on it when we queried this we were told they add it on for group of 8 or more people, this annoyed us greatly it should be our choice to tip and we felt like we were being penalised for being a group if we had known we would have asked for separate bills and without our custom on that night they would have been virtually empty .
So be aware of the hidden extra if you are doing a group booking .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698kent, Public Relations Manager at The Brasserie, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you very much we always like to give great food and service to all customers, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food,value and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal and very reasonable prices . Staff couldn't be more friendly and welcoming and service speed was fine although restaurant not full. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698kent, Front Office Manager at The Brasserie, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you very much we always like to give great food and service to all customers, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Food, Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

They only had 2 people on for a full restuarant on a busy saturday night, it took us an hour to order and only cos we pushed that through. We wanted to eat and get out to the bars and it just wasnt slick enough. Food was good and so was the wine

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698kent, Front Office Manager at The Brasserie, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Thank you very much , We always try our best to give the best quality of food and service. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Goood Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice ambiance. Good food and service. Although on the night we dined there was a rather noisy group celebration at the back of the restaurant, where we were first seated, we were promptly moved to the front when staff realised it was a bit of an issue for us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698kent, General Manager at The Brasserie, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you very much we always like to give great food and service to all customers, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Recently had an extremely enjoyable evening visit to this restaurant. Had previously been for an office Christmas Meal and had been impressed. On this occasion chose from the set menu which still had a good selection of course options. Had 3 courses and each one was well cooked and well presented. My friend also enjoyed his meal as much as I did. The price was very good, not excessive. Have to mention the waitresses, Bronwyn and Allisya (apologies if those are spelt incorrectly). Their service was friendly, not rushed and they were both very helpful and attentive. Overall an extremely satisfying evening. I will certainly return...very soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698kent, Front Office Manager at The Brasserie, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you very much we always like to give great food and service to all customers, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to The Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.