We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Laid Back Place with Lovely Happy and Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brasserie

The Brasserie
16 Falcon Street, Ipswich ip1 1sl, England
+44 1473 230185
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 345 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $16 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to The Brasserie. . . True to the definition of the word, The Brasserie offers "simple and hearty food in an unpretentious atmosphere." We pride ourselves on our use of local ingredients, fresh fish and meats, and offer a variety of modern European dishes as well as traditional British favourites. Dining with us is all about you. Whether it be a family gathering, business lunch, birthday or romantic meal for two, our friendly and efficient staff are always on hand to ensure you have everything you need.
ipswich, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Laid Back Place with Lovely Happy and Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My fiance Giles and I went for dinner on Saturday evening, and it was just perfect.
Bron, our waitress, greeted us with huge enthusiasm and a lovely smile - there was just her and one other waitress serving an (almost) full restaurant and not once did we have to wait for anything - nor were we "over-fussed" - these girls have got it just right!
Halfway through dinner, I spilt a whole glass of red wine - half of it up the wall, the other half all over my dress! Again, no fuss made whatsoever, the wine was cleared up and I was given both a glass of soda water, and a glass of white wine to try to sort my dress out (amazingly, the soda water, applied liberally with plenty of tissues did the trick!). As I hadnt needed the white wine, I also got that as a bonus to drink (after throwing the red everywhere!)
The food was delicious, arrived quickly (but with plenty of space in between courses) and warm bread straight from the oven and a jug of chilled tap water were brought to us as soon as we sat down. The set menu is available throughout the week and Saturdays you can have that or a la carte.
Very reasonably priced (3 courses for £19.95 on a Saturday - I'd say that's great value) and nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommended and we will be going back soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698kent, Front Office Manager at The Brasserie, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you very much we always like to give great food and service to all customers, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“great eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

went in my own for an early supper on a weekday evening when passing through Ipswich

owner serving and very helpful and friendly

the food was excellent and good value. Starter of whitebait was especialy good - succulent and not over-battered as is often the case

it was very quiet , which was a shame as it deserves to be busier - but it was early on a Tuesday evening

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Z3368FMpaull, Front Office Manager at The Brasserie, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Thank you very much , We always try our best to give the best quality of food and service. See you soon!
More
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brasserie Ipswich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have eaten here more than once and each time the meal has been lovely, great portion sizes ( not Skinny ) and the staff and owner have always been attentive and lovely - some other eateries could take a note from them.

Excellent value for money and a sate in Ipswich's eating crown.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698kent, Front Office Manager at The Brasserie, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you very much we always like to give great food and service to all customers, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Three of us enjoyed a fantastic meal in last month
The food was delicious and there was also so much of it
We all ate off the set menu and was plenty of choice and 3 courses for £20 which thought was good value for money too as well all left feeling stuffed
The belly pork was excellent and worth a visit alone for that
We all left feeling full and the staff couldnt have been nicer
Wish i had known about this place sooner and well be visiting again very soon i hope

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Z3368FMpaull, Front Office Manager at The Brasserie, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Thank you very much , We always try our best to give the best quality of food and service. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wish I had been before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed an excellent dinner here. The staff were very attentive and the restaurant had a nice ambience. Apart from us there was only one large party of 9 although we did eat quite early. Shame it wasn't busier. Had a 2 course meal from the set menu, starter and main both of which were excellent. Also had a very nice bottle of Chilean Merlot. Will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Z3368FMpaull, Front Office Manager at The Brasserie, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Thank you very much , We always try our best to give the best quality of food and service. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to The Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.