We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cineworld Cinemas

Cineworld Cinemas
Cardinal Park | 11 Grafton Way, Ipswich IP1 1AX, England
0871 220 8000‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 41 Activities in Ipswich
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
Attraction details
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The place was clean, there is a Starbucks available before entering the movie area, restrooms clean. The seats were okay, the movie screen was a little smaller then what I am used to coming from a capital city, but it is a nice experience nonetheless, making it a little more cosy, while still being a cinema.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    20
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable chairs for once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Obviously with all cineworld cinemas, they're very overpriced for tickets, food and drinks. However, using a cinema card with discounts on beverages, it works out a lot cheaper. The seating in this one is very good, nice comfy chairs with lots of legroom!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Tatty, not planned well and expensive. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited on a Sunday morning. Which was very busy. But there were long queues as you had to buy tickets from the refreshment desks. With 8 or so ticket tills closed??? Oh by the way..not paying £8 for popcorn and coke! Massive rip off. Neither were many other customers! ! When we entered the theatre seats were tatty and some were ripped and loose. Movie was ok but the whole experience was expensive. As it cost £4 to park whilst you watch the movie. Would rather use a small local movie theatre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The other half and I went today - Imax novices we weren't sure what to expect, WOW, fantastic!!! Absolutely marvellous, we were both so impressed, spoilt us now for any other type of showing (smile)
If in doubt that it's worth the cost, try it, believe me you won't regret it.
Plus the cinema was clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and very helpful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unlimited Card is genius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have had an unlimited card since January and it is brilliant. You just need to go twice a month and it covers your payment!
The cinema is always clean and tidy (trust me, I know, I go atleast once a week.. sometimes twice a day) they ALWAYS have the newest films and alot to choose from.

There are some negatives to add, but more constructive critism really:
- The toilets do need to be updated
- The food stalls are incredibly expensive and even with an unlimited card (you get 10% off) I am put off with the prices

The cinema is fantastic and it is always busy which is nice to see.
My boyfriend and I had an amazing time a few months ago when we say Avengers Assemble in IMAX 3D at 9pm followed by the brand new Iron Man 3 as it came out at Midnight. That was very reasonably priced (the prices online are very good),

So overall, thank you Cineworld for a great experience, I look forward to seeing another film with you soon!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cineworld Cinemas also viewed

 

Been to Cineworld Cinemas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cineworld Cinemas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.