We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“year 4 trip to the orwell river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orwell River Cruises

Orwell River Cruises
Orwell Quay, Ipswich IP3 0BD, England
07734 875887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 activities in Ipswich
Type: Tours, Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Sail the River Orwell in StyleThe River Orwell is one of the most scenic and historic rivers in the country. The Orwell Lady public cruises sail from Ipswich Wet Dock (Orwell Quay) to Pin Mill or Harwich Harbour from Easter weekend through to September. There is a programme of music evenings, wine tasting and afternoon tea cruises throughout the season and the vessel is a popular venue for private charters.Tickets for all public cruises and theme nights are available from the Tourist Information Centre in Ipswich.
ipswich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“year 4 trip to the orwell river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

As we whent on the orwell lady i looked around and thoght that the boat was beautiful. It took a litle wile to get the boat moving alogh we finaly got it moving. It felt really fast when we was moving as i looked we came to a stop the man said that we have to go throgh the lock as we whent throgh the lock i felt like the boat was sinking but the water was geting lower as we whent throgh to the river then we sore the orwell brige then we whent back . i would say it is really nice

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My first river cruise Jessica H (orwell lady)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We walked from school to the docks where the orwell lady was, it was very easy to board the orwell lady. We all got on and took our seats, it had about 30 seats on the upper deck there was plenty of room for all of my class and teachers to sit comftably. below it had a snack bar and seats to sit in with the windows all around so we could see whats around us. On the trip we saw.. boats, bulidings, cranes, orwell bridge,lots of birds and the grain poring in and out of the boats. my favourite part was when we went under the orwell bridge. It was a fun trip for me and all of my class i really enjoyed it and would love to go again. by jessica H

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Harrison's School (Cliff Lane Primary) Year 4 Trip. (Assisted)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

On overcast but dry day I walked down to the Cliff Quay with my teachers and friends looking for the boat called 'Lady Orwell'. For an abled person getting on and off was easy, but for those with sticks or wheelchairs would need assistance. The boat has two decks with the lower under cover. The going was steady and smooth. Passing the surrounding historic buildings the Captain told us about tunnels, stories of the past and lots of interesting facts. My favourite part was passing through the lock and a French warship that was docked. I enjoyed the trip and would happily recommend to anyone.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the lady Orwell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

As we got on the lady Orwell the docks looked truly beautiful with its luxurious boats and the customs house looked great too. When we all piled on board and sat on the bench the captain got up on the loud speaker and started to tell us lots of useful information.i really enjoyed this trip, and went with my class. i would definitely recommend going on the lady Orwell. by Ella M

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A gentle cruise down the river on the open top of the boat (not a tea cruise). Very pleasant with quite well informed captain. Could have had more info on bird/wild life down the river, although the info on the ports etc was interesting. Perhaps more afternoon tea cruises would be good!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orwell River Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Orwell River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orwell River Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Orwell River Cruises to your Saves list