We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusted and hungry” 1 of 5 stars
Review of My Keralam

My Keralam
24 St. Helens Street | My Keralam Is Located Opposite Regent Theater, Ipswich IP4 1HJ, England
+44 1473 288599
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 336 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Here at 'My Keralam' South Indian restaurant, we specialise in Keralan cuisine and introduce our customers to the best dishes from the region. Kerala cuisine is unique, full of tradition, flavour and spices. Its renowned for exotic recipes which are handed over from mother to daughter, generation to generation. Kerala food has strong flavours, spices, seasoning and nutritious ingredients. Its is enrich in six tastes such as sweet, sour, salty, spicy, bitter and astringent. We like to make our guests feel extraordinarily special, we strive to exceed our guest's expectations and try to ensure that each dining experience is a memorable one.
Ipswich, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disgusted and hungry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a table booked for 8.00pm. 8:40pm not even a poppadum in sight. There were 6 of us, they took our drink order but not the other 4 people at the table, however having to get the waiters attention was almost impossible. In the end, we walked out as we at the end of our tether. Will never set foot in there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good, best in ipswich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

went here saturday evening, we got into this restaurant and the only people eating until later were indian, to me this is a good thing, it means that if indian families eat here it must be good, i was not dissapointed, the food was fantastic, it was so much fresher tasting than other indian restaurants that we,ve been to in ipswich, i had king prawns in garlic and chilli for starter and king prawn kerala for main, the flavors were fantastic, this is the best indian in ipswich without a doubt, will be looking very forward to going here again to try other things from the menu

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Rather spartan but good food and nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

You wouldn't visit My Keralam for romantic and luxurious atmosphere, but granted that it is very reasonably priced, the place is nice. It's clean, the service is very kind, even if not everyone is a fluent English speaker, and the food was jolly good. As the restaurant specialises in cooking from Kerala, the menu is not all familiar, but there is a wide choice and some helpful notes. We went to celebrate a birthday and although we didn't ask for any special attention, an ice team 'cake' complete with candle and nice little bits of deep fried dough appeared . We were very pleased. A nice gesture. Would we go back? Yes...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Have been here many times now and never disappointed. Lot's of varieties of breads and sides to try and curries are always full of flavour! Their fish curries are fantastic and all dishes are priced reasonably. Good atmosphere and attentive staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good for Carnivores, Veggies,Vegans and Gluten Free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My Keralam is a little known gem of a restaurant in Ipswich. This low key Southern Indian restaurant and takeaway provides numerous tasty dishes at very reasonable cost. The surroundings are not flash or modern but perfectly adequate. The staff don't seem to speak much English but this is quite charming. The menu is long and varied and you can have such treats as lentil doughnuts, lentil pizza,fried dumpling stuffed with spinach and pumpkin or any number of curries. Everything is made with gram flour or lentils so good for gluten free diets. Please give this place a try......you just might like it!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Keralam also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to My Keralam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Keralam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.