We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best in Ipswich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront

The Waterfront
15 Regatta Quay, Ipswich IP4 1FH, England
44 0 1473 226 082
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 344 Restaurants in Ipswich
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Still the best in Ipswich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

On Saturday night I once again visited this superb restaurant with family and as usual fantastic service, lovely staff and the food was beautiful. The beef Wellington is one of my favourite meals and I strongly advise everyone to try it, it is wonderful. So thanks again for another lovely evening.
Gregg and all your staff, keep up the good work.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    38
    10
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visit. Then review.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I also feel compelled to respond to worntoshreds’s extraordinarily negative Waterfront review. The Waterfront Restaurant is an excellent Restaurant in every meaningful respect; fine food, excellent drinks and friendly staff and, like most restaurants these days, jealously guards it’s overwhelmingly positive tripadvisor ratings. To dilute a business’s reputation (albeit only slightly) by awarding a single point should require serious thought and only come following a long and frank face-to-face discussion with the restaurant’s management about your terrible meal experience.

Oh, hang on a minute. The reviewer hasn’t been to the Waterfront yet. They are reviewing it in advance. Brilliant. And what an opportunity for the rest of us.

Because,just like worntoshreds, I too can’t afford to eat in some of the restaurants that I would like to. So, watch out for my imminent scathing assessment of le Gavroche in London. Much too far from my house and the staff are probably snooty. And the Fat Duck in Bray. Porridge as a main course? Are they mad? A very low score I think.

If you are planning dinner in Ipswich and want to be spoilt go to the Waterfront Restaurant. And if you don't eat certain things, talk to chef – he will look after you.

It might be a little dearer than eating a beanburger at home though……

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best in Ipswich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We often go down to the Waterfront in Ipswich ,we always find the food excellent and great value,they have an extra special selection of wines,the staff are polite and helpfull,the owner Gregg
has always got time to talk to his customers, best in Ipswich
June & Malcolm Roberts

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Good service, Nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The food was very tasty, well cooked and varied. Service was excellent. This is one of the more expensive places in the area so be prepared but if you like the finer things in life well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Amazing fish cakes ! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely fish cakes !! Beautifully presented food . Ate here last summer too and had the best Caesar salad I've ever had . Friendly staff. Great to sit outside in summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.