We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively restaurant , fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront

The Waterfront
15 Regatta Quay, Ipswich IP4 1FH, England
44 0 1473 226 082
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 345 Restaurants in Ipswich
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hockley, Essex
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lively restaurant , fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We went with a party of 16 people. We chose from the A La Carte and three courses come to around £30 without drinks . Each course was exceptional and everyone was served together . Very friendly staff and presentation of the food was impeccable . I live about an hours drive away and would quite happily make the trip again just for the qualty of the food .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    38
    10
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“One of the best in Ipswich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I celebrated my birthday here with my family - my second visit to this lovely restaurant. The food was excellent and kept everyone in the party extremely happy - even the fussy ones. I have to agree that it can get very noisy - we visited on a Friday evening - but that is probably due to the low ceilings. Having said that it makes for a nice 'buzzy' atmosphere.

There was a mistake in our order but when it was pointed out the staff immediately offered either the correct dish (with a wait of 10 minutes) or, as the rest of us had been served, we could stick with the incorrect dish but have it free, which is what we did. I think they also knocked a dessert off the bill too, so no complaints.

We will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The restaurant always NEVER disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place is by far the best in the area for quality of food and service and I would highly recommend if you have not eaten here. The quality of food is consistently excellent.
There are 2 minor points.....the menu does not change much over a 12 month period or even longer, and when it does they only tweak it slightly. Also, because of the low ceilings it can get very noisy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great food and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I cannot say enough to stress how much i love coming here for their during the week set menu, its just amazing value and the food is top quality, the chicken sayay risotto ball starter is very good, I love this place

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere and on a Sunday evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Booked table over August Bank Holiday for 4 - was not initially first choice but very few restaurants open on a Sunday evening (even on a Bank Holiday). I am so glad we visited Waterfront, we had a lovely meal (and one of our party is extremely fussy - always wants something adapted !) We were initially seated between windows but no sooner had we arrived the table behind us came free and we asked if possible to move and it was absolutely no problem, so we had a fabulous view over marina too. Very pleasant meal and polite and accomodating staff. Also found a lovely place just for a drink, especially when sun is shining.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.