We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Wolsey Theatre

New Wolsey Theatre
Civic Drive, Ipswich IP1 2AS, England
01473 295 900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 166 things to do in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The New Wolsey Theatre official Trip Advisor page. A 400 seat venue in the heart of the county town of Suffolk. Come and visit us soon!We're more than happy for you to use this page to feedback about productions you've seen here but please also take the time to let us know about your overall experience. We can only improve with your honest and balanced opinions.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Panto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What an excellent panto, brilliant and funny worth every penny , the actors all play the musical instruments as part of the show wonderful

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
What an excellent panto, brilliant and funny worth every penny , the actors all play the musical instruments as part of the show wonderful

Thanks for your review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed the Panto, they are a talented bunch. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    64
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rock & Roll Panto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A superb performance updated to bring a new feel to the show. As a regular attendee I always enjoy the great skills of the cast and leave feeling I have been well entertained.

The layout of the stage in the Theatre makes you feel part of the play and the seating is tiered so you have an uninterrupted view of the stage.

Visited December 2012

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for leaving the review, great to hear you enjoyed it. We hope to entertain you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“The New Wolsey Studio (George St.)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A great studio for the little ones. A good view of the stage regardless of where you sit, and you feel as though you're part of the performance because of your close proximity. The production itself lasted 50 minutes which was the ideal length of time for my 2 & 1/2 year old to sit through and she absolutely loved the opportunity to meet the puppets at the end... what a brilliant idea!

Visited December 2012

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for the review, it's great to hear you all had such a good time. Keep an eye out for the Studio children's shows, they fill up quickly. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipsswich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The New Wolsey Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Intimate, excellent range of in house and visiting productions, can see the stage where ever you sit and regardless of the height/size of the person in front

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thanks for your review. We're very lucky to have such a lovely auditorium!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kesgrave, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
481 reviews 481 reviews
175 attraction reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“A great little Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The New Wolsey is not afraid of putting on something different. The seating is good and everyone has a good view of the stage.
The cost of productions are usually very reasonable. The nearby Spiral Car park being 2 minutes walk away making it an easy venue to get to and away.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We're certainly not afraid to try something new but we also really like to make sure we're putting on the right mix of shows for everybody. We're committed to keeping those ticket prices low with seats available at £10 or less for every performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Wolsey Theatre also viewed

 

Been to New Wolsey Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Wolsey Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.