We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really great times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Wolsey Theatre

New Wolsey Theatre
Civic Drive, Ipswich IP1 2AS, England
01473 295 900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 57 Attractions in Ipswich
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The New Wolsey Theatre official Trip Advisor page. A 400 seat venue in the heart of the county town of Suffolk. Come and visit us soon!We're more than happy for you to use this page to feedback about productions you've seen here but please also take the time to let us know about your overall experience. We can only improve with your honest and balanced opinions.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“really great times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

i have recently been to mods & rox 3 times, i take my kids to the story teller & other kids shows. cant wait for the rock n roll panto as have been going for the last 7- 8 years. food & drink are great value & sometimes just pop in for a cuppa

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Wow three times! Hope you had a great time on every occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Theatre in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    60
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My 10yr old son went here with a friend as a birthday present, and had the most fantastic time. Not too scary but enough, will not spoil it for others but they both enjoyed it very much indeed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review and thank you for bringing your son to the Theatre. Don't forget in Spring 2013 we're offering advance Under 26 tickets at £5 for many shows and keep an eye out for the Under 12 Comedy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“General opinion of wolsey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I would like to congratulate the wolsey theatre I have seen several shows lately the last one being mods and rox everyone Has been brilliant excellent value for money and you can see the stage perfectly wherever you sit unlike some theatres which charge more money for seats and you are very lucky if you get an unobscured view I love the intimacy of the small theatre and am looking forward to my next visit in a couple of weeks well done to everyone involved

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. Great to hear we've got the value for money right and for Spring 2013 we'll be offering even more £10 theatre tickets. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

In the past 3 weeks I've been to see 3 shows, 1 in westcliffe theatre, 1 at O2 London and yesterday new Wolsey theatre. I paid £63 per ticket for O2 show with poor views, freezing air con and digital screen as stage props/ background. I then paid £10 ticket for new Wolsey to watch mods &rox, amazing seats, could see every expression of actors faces, very intimate theatre. Brilliant story and fab props (even had a real motorbike!) the show was amazing everyone was up dancing at the end. food and drink was really reasonable, lots of seating, very clean. Will be seeing lots more shows here rather than spending a fortune in London

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
What a kind review thank you. We agree it's very important to make sure the whole experience before you take your seat is just as good. I'm glad you find our pricing agreeable too, we really rely on donations and funding to make sure we can continue to offer affordable tickets but in some theatres they do not have this luxury. Your support is invaluable so I do hope you'll find something else in the season to enjoy too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kesgrave, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Mods & Rox”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Went to see this the other night and it was a really good evening. It was very sad at the end, but if you gave them a good encore, they just kept coming back on. All very talented actors, singers and musicians - what else would you want for a great nights entertainment. So popular they have extended it for another week

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for coming to see the show. So pleased you had such a good time. I hope we'll see you again here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Wolsey Theatre also viewed

 

Been to New Wolsey Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Wolsey Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.