We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort,Great Breakfast,outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of pentahotel Ipswich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added pentahotel Ipswich to your Saves list
pentahotel Ipswich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ranelagh Rd, Ipswich IP2 0AD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Suffolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Comfort,Great Breakfast,outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Incredibly a great place be it comfort ,location,good breakfast most of all the team behind Penta,who always my second time around to introduce my guest to stay at Penta all the way from Australia great value,wonderful atmosphere,
Attentive,courteous staff front liner,Shannon,tabby,
Louise from the coffee house and chef Michael
Thank you so very much for the attention given to my guest you guys went all the way to make the stay truly amazing.Will be back to see you at Penta .
Best Wishes

Room Tip: Great place ex prince it and you know why I come back time and time again the staff that's what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    29
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
34
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

£93 for 2 nights (Fri & Sat) with breakfast... unbelievable value! Breakfast charged at £15 per head so we only paid £34 for the room. Unusual arrangement with the bar and reception being combined but check in quick and simple. The combined reception and bar lounge (which leads in to the restaurant) has a real ambiance. Large square bar with stools leading on to seated areas well thought out and with cool sofas and funky chairs. Great place for an evening pint or three, and a great atmosphere. Rooms simple but clean and perfectly adequate for a weekender. Huge TV! Breakfast amazing! Hot, cold or continental. Staff friendly without being over chatty. Only 10 minute walk into town. Will use Pentahotel chain again for sure. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear KCMcD,

Thank you for the great review of your stay with us at pentahotels. The team here in Ipswich are all working towards making the hotel a great place to relax & stay & I am glad that this came across during your visit. I hope that we will see you back with us very soon.
Very best regards

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I'm currently staying here on business, it's a great place to relax after work chill in the bar with a few beer by the chatty bar tender Bianca.. My steak cooked by Ashley and Michael was fantastic!
Will always choose here if I stay in Ipswich again!
Thanks to all the staff!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear ACaton13,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us here at pentahotel Ipswich. It was really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the team and I are always thankful of hearing that we have got things right! I hope that we will see you back again soon!
Very best regards

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Positive:

Modern styling, big TVs, fairly cheap. 3pm checkout on sunday.

Negative:

Staff could be much better, not particularly happy or seem grateful for your custom, not particularly helpful. Parking gets overfilled ..you pay for a space and then someone else takes it. Wifi didn't work most of visit.

Summary:
Meh.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Quinci F,

we are sorry that we have not met your expectations and that our staff left the impression that they have no fun.
We always try to fix things for guests when issues arise and I am sorry that it seems like we did not get the opportunity to do so on this occasion.
We have 3 options for Internet. The complimentary one is mainly for E-Mail/Whats App and Webpages. If you want to stream or use high volume we offer our faster Internet.
Our Parking space is limited so that we offer alternative public parking space across the river, 3 min walking distance to the hotel.

Again, my apologize and we are looking forward to see you back soon.

best regards
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

parking is limited - so maybe request if they can reserve a space when booking
if you have a space then its secure and hotel were happy for me to leave car for majority of the following day

room was well furnished with big TV and lovely bathroom - it was also quiet so had a great nights sleep

the bar was a bit on the pricey side and food nothing to write home about but wins on convenience - same with breakfast at 15 quid it is overpriced

the free wifi is quite slow

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recent overnight stay while on business: very comfortable bed, fabulous toiletries, good selection of tea and coffee and the best breakfast I have had in the UK. The bar food was a bit pricey and 2 colleagues who had pasta dishes had meagre portions and parking is very limited. Otherwise, would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear OnamissionKentUk ,

thanks for your Feedback. Ashley our Head Chef was really happy to read your comment about our Breakfast but he will also check our portions generally for the Dinner dishes.

We are also more than happy to see you again.

Thak you and best regards

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is a great find car park very! Small but it has its bonuses that makes the car park a thing of the past!... Head Chef Ashley meal does great food and adapts to our company's needs due to long stay. Bianca always around to order my
cordial... Joanna lovely always smiling all the staff are great but these are on shift!
Thanks all!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Laura,

one sentence is sometimes enough!
Thanks for you Feedback. That is a great motivation to the Team!

best regards

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to pentahotel Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Ipswich

Address: Ranelagh Rd, Ipswich IP2 0AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ipswich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Ipswich 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your pentahotel Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Pentahotel Ipswich Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage pentahotel Ipswich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.