We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN & COMFORTABLE. EXCELLENT BREAKFAST & GREAT SERVICE. WELL DONE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sidegate Guest House

Sidegate Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sidegate Guest House to your Saves list
Sidegate Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   121 Sidegate Lane, Ipswich IP4 4JB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kent
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“CLEAN & COMFORTABLE. EXCELLENT BREAKFAST & GREAT SERVICE. WELL DONE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We had a great stay at the Sidegate Guesthouse. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was excellent, with a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit and traditional full English served piping hot! Although everything was very near perfect it was impressive to find in the welcome book that there is a comprehensive and detailed refurbishment plan to improve the already excellent accommodation still further. The tariff is not cheap but you get what you pay for. The hosts Sally & Richard are nice friendly people who could not have done more to help from the time we booked until the end of our stay and we would not hesitate in recommending the Sidegate Guesthouse to friends, family or anyone else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
37
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the Sidegate house this weekend and had a fantastic stay.

As stated on their website, it really did have everything: powerful hot showers, comfy beds (with 3 large pillows on my single bed), full length mirror, TV with cable, clock radio with alarm, complimentary chocolates, toiletries, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits as well as a huge fluffy towel!

The breakfast was freshly cooked and filling with a vegetarian option available (which I very much enjoyed) as well as fruit juice, cereal, fruit salad and yoghurt and as much tea, coffee and toast as you could manage.

There was nothing I would change about my stay, except if I was being very picky - the hot tap in the bathroom was VERY hot and I did burn my hand, it might be useful to have a little sticker to warn stupid people like me!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

This one B & B that I can recommend so much that we keep coming back. This last stay yet again was tip top.

The rooms were clean and comfy, with a lovely night sleep.

The communal areas have had a little shuffle since my last visit but works very well. I really like places that have a communal areas so you do not feel obliged to lock yourself in your room.

The hosts were wonderful and provided a lovely breakfast, we also appreciate being able to bring a take away back in the evening.

Eki of course deserves a mention, lovely dog.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed for a weekend whilst visiting family in Ipswich. Breakfasts were excellent and the room spotless. We had a very comfortable stay and would recommend this as an ideal place to stay whilst visiting the area.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

The couple that run this B&B take their job as your host and hostess very seriously. We cannot fault them or the Sidegate in any way whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We have always stayed at Holiday Inn when visiting family in Ipswich - but now they have put up their prices to a level that we can't consider any more. Then we found Sidegate Guest House - and oh, how I wish we'd found it before! The standard is so much higher than anywhere else we've ever stayed, whether it be hotel or guest house. Spotlessly clean, wonderful breakfast (with the best fruit salad I've ever had in my life!) and every comfort considered. All our requests were met with charm and efficiency - and we'll definitely go back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Very impressed at the hospitality and comfort at this b & b. We normally only stay in 4 or 5 star hotels and are hard to please, but we were very happy with our one night stay at Sidegate Guest House and would recommend it to our friends. Everything you could possibly need at a very good price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sidegate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidegate Guest House

Address: 121 Sidegate Lane, Ipswich IP4 4JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sidegate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptionally high standard of accommodation and comfort with high pressure en suite showers, flat screen televisions with Freeview and Fairtrade refreshments. Locally sourced breakfasts and free wireless broadband internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Sidegate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidegate Guest House Ipswich, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidegate Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.