We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sidegate Guest House

Sidegate Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sidegate Guest House to your Saves list
Sidegate Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   121 Sidegate Lane, Ipswich IP4 4JB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“All round excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I booked the Superior Single room and as you can see it was a good sized double bedroom tastefully decorated in beige and brown. A nice working flat screen TV and tea/coffee/biscuits. I was welcomed by 'mine host' and given a good brief about the guesthouse, keys etc - very friendly and informative. Free WiFi is included and this worked well.The bathroom was small but functional, exceptionally clean and with a good shower - who could ask for more. Car parking out front. A quiet part of Ipswich with very little noise in the night. Breakfast(or should I say break-feast) served between 7.30/8.30. Sausages, bacon, eggs, musghrooms, toast and beans after cereal and juice. I had to decline the black pudding. A classic english breakfast at its best with the best of ingredients. I look forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
37
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed here one night on our way from south Dorset to the Norfolk coast and were delighted with the accommodations. Sally and Richards are extremely gracious and friendly hosts -- they made us feel instantly at home, important as we were very tired after a considerably longer than expected travel time (traffic!). We stayed in the family-with-dog room, which has a doorway to the garden, which was very convenient, particularly at 2:30 AM when our dear pooch told us that nature was calling. The room was very comfortable, clean, and cozy, with a super-king size bed. We would certainly look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

WE stayed in the sidegate while we were attending a family wedding in ipswich the location is great also the accomadation is first class one of the best we have ever stayed and breakfast was very good and tasty with a good selection we would stay again in future on one of our trips.
thank you
mrs p keane

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Where do i start. I dont like working away from home so i try to find somewhere that i can come back to & feel welcome.
I was working in Ipswich from November 2010 till July 2011 & stayed with Sally & Richard the whole time
Both Richard & Sally could not do enough for me & my colleagues
Although the ensuites are a tad small the warmth from the accommodation makes up for it.
The bedrooms are clean & the beds are very comfortable
Free wifi & the TV is a nice size for the rooms
If you need or run out of complimentary in your room they will always be at hand to refill
Breakfast was first class especially the black pudding thats a must!
You could bring your own food back & Richard & Sally would make sure your table was set whether it was inside or in the garden on a nice evening

Thanks for making my time away from home easier.

Hugh

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

This is the third time we've stayed at the guest house, Each time Sally and Richard, the owners, have been very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are of a very high standard - spacious, clean, comfortable.
Each morning we received a delicious cooked breakfast, freshly made to order - having the option of fruits, yoghurt or a full english breakfast.
Sally and Richard made us feel at home, especially after our 7hour journey! We always enjoy staying here with Sally and Richard and would never consider staying anywhere else :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire, uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Having stayed at Sidegate on a previous visit to Ipswich last year, I had no hesitation in deciding to return when visiting friends again a few weeks ago. Sally and Richard (the owners) were yet again very welcoming and made us feel instantly at home - very much appreciated after a 7 hour journey! The room was just how we remembered it - light and spacious, comfortable, very clean and with all the little added extras such as tea/coffee/biscuits, fluffy towels and dressing gowns which make the stay even more enjoyable. The breakfast in the morning was lovely and all freshly made to order with the options of a full english cooked breakfast and fruit/yoghurt too. Throughout our stay, Sally and Richard were attentive and friendly, making sure we had everything we needed. The communal areas are a great place to relax without feeling like we had to sit in our rooms and we were made to feel like friends not just customers. Sidegate is a fantastic guest house with lovely owners and we will definitely be returning here on all future trips to Ipswich.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

What a lovely place. Quiet, serene, clean, and comfortable. We stayed in January with our children for a swim meet and had such a nice experience. Great breakfast and Richard and Sally are charming hosts. Hope we come to Ipswich again so we can stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sidegate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidegate Guest House

Address: 121 Sidegate Lane, Ipswich IP4 4JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sidegate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptionally high standard of accommodation and comfort with high pressure en suite showers, flat screen televisions with Freeview and Fairtrade refreshments. Locally sourced breakfasts and free wireless broadband internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Sidegate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidegate Guest House Ipswich, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidegate Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.