We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends Birthday meal - Food Poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arlingtons Brasserie

Arlingtons Brasserie
Museum Street, Ipswich, England
01473230293
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 313 restaurants in Ipswich
Cuisines: Brasserie
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friends Birthday meal - Food Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had dinner with friends on Friday 8th Febuary in evening. Menu choice we did not think very appealing in choice. when starters arrived the soup was cold and had to be returned. The Main courses arrived and we all said they were average, my Fish had no taste at all and batter was soggy. Desert menu was not appealing enough to make us order. we were disapointed as we dined at Arlingtons before must been over a year ago and food was excellent and menu had good choices but something has gone wrong. dont think kitchen could cope with demand last night as there was a Banquet going on downstairs.As for surrounding it is very nice and with the Piano being played was lovely waitress service was good BUT food not good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    86
    69
    40
    38
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Jimmy M”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We go to Arlingtons fairly regularly, either in the evening with friends and family or just the two of us for lunch. we always find the menu full of choice and at a good price.The Ambience second to non in this beautiful old gallerie building with the staff so very polite and helpful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Missing an amazing opportunity....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Saw this restaurant on TA, and was impressed with the web-site/menu - free night last night, so gave it a try.
I would love to have given this a 5* rating, as this place certainly has the wow factor - the most impressive restaurant surroundings for miles around - beautiful old galleried building on 3 levels - we had a delightful table in the gallery, not far from the pianist, seated on a purpose built "flying" stage just below us - nice touch.
Liked the menu, and food was very good, although my boeuf bourguignon lacked a little in presentation - delicious though!! My partners sea bream looked stunning.
This should, without any shadow of doubt, be the leading restaurant in Ipswich, by a country mile. However, the service is sadly lacking. I can't believe someone has invested all this money, and not added a couple more youngsters to serve, and invested more in good training.
They seemed to be hopelessly over-busy - not sure if this is just numbers or poor organisation; and they just don't seem to see you - lots of rushing about looking straight ahead. Twice, I had to get up and track down someone to serve us - firstly to get more drinks, and at the end to pay........ I think we would have sat there all night!
I was more disappointed by the above than it actually spoiling our evening. The management here are almost there ..... they have an amazing place. If the service was sorted out, this would be our preferred haunt, and place to bring friends.
I genuinely hope they do, and please give this place a try if you haven't been - spectactular venue. Prices were very reasonable too - another reason why my rating stays high.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Intimate or party - it fits both!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We held our belated Christmas office party at Arlingtons last night - enjoying the three-courses for £20 menu.

I have been to many venues where the food disappointed - but certainly NOT the case here. All of the plates were certainly home-made, well presented and filling!

The customer service was excellent - regular checks on the food, drinks etc without being "in your face" despite it being very busy with three parties on the go and several couples dining upstairs.

The venue is delightful - ground floor bar/cafe, restaurant on the 1st and 2nd floor (a gallery with mainly tables for couples). Piano player in the background, fairy lights around the balcony railings . Lovely evening and one I'd happily recommend. I'll be back with my other half for a more intimate meal

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very poor service, even worse customer service AVOID would not eat there again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked for 7.30 as was going to the pictures at 9.30 thought this was plenty of time. Arrived at 7.20 and was seated immediately, orders taken, wine arrived immediately, starters came at 7.50. We were approached by a waiting staff at 8.50 saying Due to staff changeover our order had been forgotten and had not yet been cooked. We told them to forget it as we did not have the time to wait as taxi had been booked to take us to the pictures at 9.
Went to the desk and the young guy apologised and said it was unacceptable, but still charged us full price for our starters and wine,no compensation was offered.
We contacted the manager the following day and was advised that it would be looked into and they would call us back but 1 week later we still waiting, AVOID if you are in a rush.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlingtons Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Arlingtons Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlingtons Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.