We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English country charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bentley Tower Hotel

Bentley Tower Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bentley Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Bentley Tower Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   172 Norwich Road, Ipswich IP1 2PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 37 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Cannes, France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“English country charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was a discovery, a traditional country hotel set in a delightful neighborhood, only five minutes by taxi from the railroad station. The house breathes the near home comfort one seeks away from the big cities. Arriving on a hot Summer day for a weekend with friends in the country side, as I did, one appreciates finding a small but cosy pub next to to the lobby. There is also a charming garden with tables under shady trees. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Also the reception and service was most welcoming

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
9
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

An excellent stay. It is a beautiful, beautiful building! Very well decorated, with a lovely little court yard to relax in.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, I really can't fault it. Ok, so the film posters weren't my thing, but the rest of the decor is beautiful.

Cracking value and very well placed for access into the town center, and plenty of parking. We found the owners, including the son, very helpful and pleasant.

Highly recommended. We had friends who stayed at the big chain Hotels in Ipswich, and wished they had stayed here instead as it is so beautifully quirky!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I chose this hotel as the reviews were good and I wanted a hotel near the Suffolk Record Office which had car parking. Our room was spotlessly clean, though at the top of a narrow staircase which could be difficult for anyone at all disabled. Staff were courteous, breakfast was fine and I thought the hotel offered excellent value for money. The hotel is on a main bus route, which made travelling in and out of Ipswich easy.

Room Tip: Double-glazing meant that our room was quiet, even though it overlooked the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Daughter in law arranged 2 nights b/b for us to enable us to attend her sisters 40th party. Great choice! Quite a place, very unique, comfortable room, nice power shower and great breakfast!! Location excellent, short walk into shops and in our case a little longer walk to party venue! Loved the Film Posters, memories of having seen the pictures!! Fantastic little garden area and what wisterias!! Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My mum and I stayed in a twin room with en-suite shower room, up in the rafters. Really lovely place. Old style movie poster prints everywhere which is really interesting. Lovely breakfast - and if you want breakfast book direct with the hotel not via anything online. Sadly it rained while we were there so we couldn't check out the garden, but the brief view from the bedroom it looked lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My best friend and I stayed at this hotel in 2012 for one night as a stop over. The hotel was exactly what we would've wanted. Lots of character, we loved the film posters and homely feel of it, it felt so warming. It is a bit of an Aladdins cave, so if you're into ultra modern it probably isn't the one for you, but we loved it. The owners/staff were ever so friendly and warm and we wished we could've stayed longer. We didn't want to leave and if we're ever that way again, it is the only place we would stay. Right up our street!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It is a small and decent hotel, if the room rate is low. It is very basic and clean. You need to be careful when you book it, as when I did, it talked about english breakfast, but it did not say it is included or you have to pay for it. When i got to the hotel, they said breakfast was not included. I thought the rate I paid was too high considering what the hotel offered. The rate would have been fair if breakfast was included. I arrived late so welcoming was a bit odd. I asked about breakfast and I felt the person at reception was not feeling very talkative or welcoming. Just gave me the key and said where my room was. When I came down in the morning, they told me that if I have had booked the room directly through them, I would have paid cheaper and breakfast would be included.

In summary, hotel is very clean, it looks pleasant, with basic things in the bedroom. Pillowcases were stainned, so I felt unsure about using pillows and the noise at night from the street kept me waking up, so my sleep was not good at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bentley Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Tower Hotel

Address: 172 Norwich Road, Ipswich IP1 2PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bentley Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bentley Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Tower Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentley Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.