We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, will definitely return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melverley Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Melverley Guest House to your Saves list
Melverley Guest House
62 Tuddenham Rd, Ipswich IP4 2SP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Brigg, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, will definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for 2 nights with our 7 month old baby and 3 year old son, we received a very warm welcome, even though we arrived outside of standard check-in times. The room was lovely and big, plenty of room for the fold out bed provided for our son, and our travel cot, still with space to move around the room.

The cooked breakfast was fantastic, one of the best we've had anywhere. A warm room, comfy bed, fab breakfast and hot water for a shower / bath - what more can you ask for from a B&B?! The owners were extremely welcoming and helpful, and we will definitely return here in the future.

The only (minor) suggestion for an improvement would be if there was a travel cot and highchair available for guests with babies, that would be great as it would be 2 less things to bring with us, when we already have a car full! :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    10
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
27
13
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night for visit to the theatre, guest house was in good location within walking distance of the theatre. Welcoming host, very helpful supplying us with a map to find our way around. Room clean, warm and comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The owners go that extra mile to make guests feel very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had the pleasure of traveling to Ipswich for our daughter's performance in the "Taming of the Shrew" through Shakespeare School Festivals program. As an airline family, we have the option to travel last minute, and indeed, we decided at the last minute to travel. While searching and reading about where to stay, we settled on Melverley B&B. I was a bit confused about the room being a "twin", as in America, that means a single bed, but the description and photo showed it was for two, so we booked. I liked that we had a cancellation policy, as we travel standby and this is handy. We arrived thru Heathrow, via National Express Busline, and took a taxi to the B&B. The cab was less than 5 pounds, so well worth it.

Upon arrival, we were greeted and shown to our room. It was exactly as described, two twin beds, super clean, stocked with cookies, coffee, tea, nice robes, a hair dryer, private bath, and wonderful bedding. There is a small shop, like a Circle K, 5 mins up the road. We purchased beer, wine, and alcohol for very reasonable price. Kim and Graham provided us with the needed items, so we saved a lot of money by enjoying their residence in lieu of eating and drinking out for every meal. They have a great dining area, along with a microwave available 24/7.

The water is hot in the shower, they provide shampoo, soap, lotion, and all the towels you need. They will accommodate you with taxis, local information, and ideas. They are fun to be with, easy going, and ready to help. The location is amazing. Quiet, yet everything is accessible via foot. If you find that you aren't much of a walker, you can take a taxi round trip to Town Center for under $10 pounds. There is a pub 5 mins walk away that is a blast!

In summary, this is a place unlike any hotel experience. You will fall in love with this family. And, if Kim would give lessons on poaching eggs, I would take that class, because the breakfast is amazing. Oh, and us obnoxious Americans love their iPhones and the wifi is awesome.

Room Tip: If you don't do stairs, they only have one room on the main level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashdown forest
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just stayed one night. Large room was very clean. Plenty of off road parking. The proprietor was very helpful. Fresh milk from a nearby fridge. Super breakfast. Good wi fi.Will definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: We were in room 5.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Melverley. Kim & Graham have retained their warm hospitality and we were very happy to visit again. The only change was an increase in the permanent tenants.
Ideally situated to the centre of Ipswick and lovely Christchurch Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a fantastic venue for my colleagues when visiting our Ipswich office the owners Kim and Graham are helpful and very friendly the rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is fantastic I'd advise if you wish to book the whole house to book in advance !!!

Clair Lane
JMFinn & Co

Room Tip: i'm told that Room 7 is nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was looking for a lower cost alternative to the Premier Inn and within close walking distance to the town centre. This was a great find. A warm welcome, comfortable room and good breakfast means I will definitely stay again..

Room Tip: I was in room 7 with ensuite... comfy bed and lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melverley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melverley Guest House

Address: 62 Tuddenham Rd, Ipswich IP4 2SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Melverley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melverley Guest House Ipswich, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melverley Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.