We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melverley Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Melverley Guest House to your Saves list
Melverley Guest House
62 Tuddenham Rd, Ipswich IP4 2SP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 38 Ipswich B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Great value for money, spotless, romantic, warm guesthouse. Booked the superior room which was like a fairy tale. Breakfast was close to a five star hotel quality with a wide variety, e.g. American pancakes and waffles homemade, dif teas and juices, cereals, etc.

Host's hospitality and warmth made our stay v pleasurable.

Thank you kim and graham.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    10
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
26
13
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This guest house is in a really good location for accessing the town, yet is has the calm and quiet of the country.
The house is really well kept, clean, and comfortable, and the hosts are helpful but too much so.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Beautiful old house renovated to a high standard. Only stayed for one night but were made to feel very welcome by Kim and Graham, even left us home-made cake when we returned from our evening out. Rooms exceptionally clean with high quality furnishing and lovely breakfast. Ideal location as close to the town and near the cemetery especially as we were there for a funeral.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I loved this hotel: very clean and witch character. Very friendly owners, very caring and nice. I will be coming back next time travelling to Ipswich.

Room Tip: Luxury 4 posters is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Woodhouse, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

i have just spent 2 nights in this wonderful guest house graham and kim are the perfect hosts a very friendly and warm atmosphere as soon as i arrived the rooms are tastefully decorated and the breakfast is brilliant the property is in an ideal location just a short walk from the centre of town i have found a wonderfull place to stay and will not even bother looking anywhere else cant wait to go back

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at Melverley for four nights, and found it to be the perfect guesthouse.The welcome was warm from owners Kim and Graham who were chatty and helpful throughout my stay.

Location wise it's on a quiet street which is only a ten minute walk through the park to the town centre, and there was plenty of free onsite parking. Guests are given their own rooms and are free to come and go as they please.

The large turretted house itself is beautiful - lots of period features and tastefully decorated in a classic style with lovely contemporary touches. My room was nicely furnished and decorated in a traditional style with a very comfortable bed, a TV with Freeview channels (and good reception!) and a well-provisioned tea tray. There was also a spotless modern white bathroom with a fabulous hot shower, fluffy towels, and lovely toiletries. In fact, the whole house is spotlessly clean and beautifully presented, a far cry from my usual perception of guest houses.

But even better than all of this were the wonderful breakfasts. Kim and Graham offer a range of freshly prepared home-cooked dishes including the fluffiest american pancakes with syrup, some seriously tasty bacon and perfectly poached eggs, and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Coffee was good and strong, and the fresh fruit salad was beautifully presented with perfectly ripe sweet strawberries, grapes, pineapple and melon.

I rarely stay in guesthouses or B&Bs, generally preferring the amenities hotels have to offer, but I now stand corrected. Yes, there's no bar at Melverley; yes, there's no restaurant; yes, there's no 24 hour reception; but what Melverley does have, as a family-run guesthouse is unique and priceless - a wonderful welcome, a comfortable homey feel and those little touches that most hotels don't ever think about, but that really make your stay.

I would highly recommend Melverley to anyone, for any type of stay.

Go on - try it... you'll love it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This has been our 3rd stay at Melverley Guest House and we plan to return again. Graham and Kim are very welcoming and helpful. Very central, Clean and the breakfast is excellent. We would highly recommend this guest house to anyone looking to stay in Ipswich

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melverley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melverley Guest House

Address: 62 Tuddenham Rd, Ipswich IP4 2SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Melverley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melverley Guest House Ipswich, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melverley Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.