We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Shore Beach Cafe

West Shore Beach Cafe
Dale Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2BG, Wales
01492 872958
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 154 restaurants in Llandudno
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Connahs Quay
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Making the most of a pleasant October day my wife and I, with In-laws and children in tow paid a visit to Llandudno and for a change went to the west shore where we dined in the café that shares its name. This was the first time I'd eaten here but it certainly won't be the last.

The food was all home made with the exception of the chips (you'd need a full time potato peeler and slicer, it was so busy) and tasted fantastic. Likewise the desserts were homemade and as a previous reviewer said the Bakewell slice is outstanding. The only downside was after that two courses I didn't have enough room left to go back and try the Victoria and lemon sponge cakes which looked brilliant. Something to look forward to next time!

The service was as good as the food and the place is immaculately clean with tables cleaned immediately upon becoming vacant. The views from the café, whether sitting inside or out are lovely, particularly on a day like today. All in all its a fantastic little place and deserves all the praise that has come its way on this site.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi SteveConnahsQuay Thanks very much for the nice comments, it makes such a difference to know what we do is appreciated. And your spot on with the chips, we'd never keep up, although we'd like to do our own. But I'm pleased you like all the other homemade food that you all tried, and our Bakewell Slice is becoming better known than we are and sells out really quickly. It's great that you noticed the cleanliness, the team work so hard to keep tables clean and tidy when it's busy. We look forward to seeing you again and hope you'll enjoy the Victoria and the Lemon sponge when you get to try them. Thanks again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    65
    16
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Beach Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The West Shore area of Llandudno is a catering desert but this brilliant beach cafe is definately worth a visit. Excellent salads, tasty sandwiches and a good selection of home made cakes combined with speedy service and friendly atmosphere make for a lovely stop.
Do not miss the Barra Brith!
The only downside when we visited was the presence of a large number of dogs in the outside terrace

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Ankerflud I'm really pleased you enjoyed your visit to our cafe, and it's great you tried and liked the Bara Brith. I hope the people with dogs on the terrace didn't detract from your visit, it can get busy outside sometimes, we do ask all owners to keep their dogs on a lead whilst at the cafe. I hope you'll visit us again soon. I'll pass on your comments to the team. Thanks again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best ever Bakewell Tart!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a wonderful cafe, sitting almost on the beach at the West Shore. There is a lovely view out to sea and to the estuary, it's nicely decorated, in a seaside theme, and the service is so good; where else would you be asked, as a matter of course, whether you would like help with your tray?

The choice on the menu is always interesting, the food is delicious, and yes, they really do make the best ever Bakewell Tart , as well as a good selection of other cakes.

It's a little gem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Jean M Thanks so much for your kind words, and taking the time to write your review. It really does give all of the team a boost when we hear such positive comments. I hope you'll visit again soon. Thanks again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the car park, this cafe didn't look brilliant. But once inside it was clean, bright and fresh. Good service, and reasonably priced. It's only shame is that apart from a few local images, there was nothing to indicate that you were in Wales, no mention of local produce, nor any use of the Welsh language. But overall I would recommend this cafe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi David J Your comment surprisingly good did make us smile, but i know what you mean it's not the most inspiring building in the world. But i'm pleased you found the interior more to your liking. I'm sorry to hear you thought the Welsh theme was lacking though, but it is interesting to have somebody else's input. We do have a section on the menu that mentions we buy all ingredients as locally as possible, which does include Welsh dishes and a lot of what we serve is homemade. On the menu you'll see we have Welsh Breakfast which features award winning Anglesey Bacon and Sausages from Y Felinhelli, we use Edwards of Conwy Sausage in our Sausage and mash, and make our own Welsh Rarebit and Homemade Bara Brith, we also list that Welsh Cheddar is used in sandwiches toasties etc. But it's the Specials board where we really try and highlight the Welsh produce: We only use Welsh Lamb and Beef in our dishes such as Welsh Lamb Hot Pot, or Welsh Beef in the Steak and Conwy Ale Pie, along with quite a host of other dishes prepared with local meats, we do Sunday Roast dinners which are popular. And throughout summer on the specials board we have had Local Crab, Conwy Bay Plaice, Local Seabass. Our Welsh Cheese Ploughmans is a real favourite which includes Perl las cheese, caerphilly and Welsh Cheddar along with homemade chutney, plus there's a lot of other dishes i could mention. Having said all that if you haven't noticed then maybe we're not shouting about it enough. I take on board all your comments and i must agree about the lack of the Welsh language in the cafe, as a local lad i should do better on that. On a lighter side we do have a range of Welsh goods and souvenirs on display, and the Welsh flag flying outside our front door. Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review of the cafe. I will put some thought into how we can improve on the areas you mentioned, as I'm proud of the produce we use and of where i'm from. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe, horrendous toilets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Went to get an ice cream and cafe was lovely and welcoming. We had to ask for a key to the toilets and proceeded outside round the corner and into the smelliest dingiest toilets I have been in in a long time. They could do much better.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi honestlips Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and for the 'Lovely Cafe' bit. We do try and keep the toilets clean but it can be difficult as they are in constant use, as for the dingy comment, i realise they could be better and we are planning a refurb this winter. So hopefully they'll be looking better should you visit us again. I hope you still enjoyed your visit. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Shore Beach Cafe also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to West Shore Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Shore Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.