We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace at St. Tudno Hotel

Terrace at St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel | North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
+44 1492 874411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 167 Restaurants in Llandudno
Price range: $23 - $51
Cuisines: Tea Room, Welsh
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Llandudno
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

.12 of us for Xmas work's "do" last Friday.we.weren't quite sure what to expect as the menu on the flyer stated 5 courses for £22.50. .Bucks Fizz & canapes to start, these were served in the lounge ( as we requested) & Mr Bland -the owner- popped in to have a chat with us .. we were then invited into the dinning room for our meal..I had fishcake followed by lamb then apple crumble parfait., all beautifully presented and tasty and as a group we were all delighted with the food . The service too was excellent, the staff quietly seving us our. food in an un obtrusive way, so much so that we hardly noticed them, they had it down to a fine art with place settings noted with our orders so as not to have to ask which meal was for who.It was very well executed and enabled us to keep chatting without being .interrupted ..They kept an eye on us from afar but extremely proffesionally. The hotel was warm, welcoming, the staff excellent and from us all compliments to the chef. "We thoroughly enjoyed the evening and definately reccomend.t the restaurant.-. .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    10
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dinning room evening experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This family run hotel has very good standards, but as the most expensive evening meal in the town it is hard to accept such small amount of food on your plate, and the lack of veg, come on quality yes, the amount food is also important not a picture on a plate.

There are much better eating place around and for the same price where you will feel like you have been wined and dinned.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StTudno, Owner at Terrace at St. Tudno Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding our good standards and quality food - indeed these standards are absolutely paramount for the type of operation that we run. Regarding our food, we very rarely receive comments about ‘small portion size’ as nearly all our guests are extremely complimentary and well satisfied after completing their meals. I put inverted commas around the words small portion because people’s opinions would vary with regard to what they would deem as a small portion.

Bearing in mind that we are the only 2 AA Rosette fine dining awarded restaurant in Llandudno our prices are actually extremely reasonable. Our three course a la carte dinner menu averages around £30.00 which includes canapés on arrival and a palate-cleansing sorbet between starter and main. A large number of our guests will bear testament to the fact that we actually offer extremely good value. They particularly enjoy the quality of food, the service and the surroundings as well as the relaxing atmosphere. All restaurants vary in what they offer and charge accordingly.

You do seem to contradict yourself in your review. You lead in by saying we are ‘the most expensive meal in town’ and in the very next sentence say that for ‘the same price’ there are better eating places around!!

So in finishing, and meant with no malice Mr Williams, ‘come on’ if you felt short changed by what you received on your plate then simply all you had to do was ask for more, just like Oliver did, but unlike Mr Bumble we would have gladly given you more.

Incidentally, please read the next review, and by the way I didn’t write it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our most recent visit to the St Tudno and we enjoyed an excellent lunch in the main restaurant and finished off with coffee in the terrace lounge. Consistently high quality cuisine and well meriting its Two Rosettes and many other awards. Friendly team, relaxed, quiet, graceful environment and decor. The sorbet between the two courses we had was an excellent bonus for the taste buds after the warming soup and mussel chowder and before the main chicken dish we selected from a reasonably wide choice at lunch . If you wished you could also have a 3 course meal. Service in the restaurant is first class to back up the work of the chef and team behind the scenes. Coffee in the front lounge at window seat gave a great view of the Promenade. Possible also to have lighter, bar meals etc in the front lounge and a table on the terrace that would invite a long stay when the warm sunny days return.
There is a small car park at the rear of the hotel, approached from a side road. Some years ago with our family,we also had an excellent Wedding Anniversary meal there and it is great to see that the team maintains consistently high standards . We live too close by to stay overnight at the St Tudno, but we imagine the rooms are of a high standard.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scones to sell your Grannie for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent scones for afternoon tea. Tea and coffee were superb, we only stepped in for a cuppa and we were treated like old friends and the service was excellent. Scones were actually fresh and just baked - not manufactured and microblasted!Smashine. Gorgeous surrorundings and lovely sea view.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malpas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just as I remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My friend and I visit Llandudno every September/October and round off
our day out with afternoon tea at St Tudno's , it didn't disappoint!!! Just as I remembered,
nothing had changed...the poached salmon sandwiches on brown were to die for together with
excellent service and a very nice ambience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrace at St. Tudno Hotel also viewed

 
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Terrace at St. Tudno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace at St. Tudno Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.