We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watkins and Co. at the Empire

Watkins and Co. at the Empire
The Empire Hotel | Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HE, Wales
+44 (0)1492 860555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 166 Restaurants in Llandudno
Price range: $77 - $77
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Watkins Co restaurant in Llandudno is an equation that comes out right every time. Take an award-winning restaurant, set it in one of Llandudno���s top hotels, create an historic Victorian dining stuffed with formal elegance, add in an inventive chef with a dab hand at classic favourites and it���s elementary -- Watkins is a hit. Half the menu is seasonal, locally-sourced a la carte deliciousness, while the other half is a daily-changing table d���hote menu offering excellent value. People love the home-made lasagne and the daily roast, but we recommend the more inventive creations, too. Watkins Co���s service, impressive children���s menu and a pocket-friendly wine list get top marks.
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was actually the pool side bar we ate in, still in the Empire. We had three courses and they were all brilliant and great value. We always go there when we visit Llandudno.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    45
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Q / P = V”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Take the Quality of the food and service, divide by the Price paid and the result is the Value derived from your meal. On this basis the Empire hotel scores the highest possible. The food is of very high quality and the price is amazingly low, I don't know how they do it but they do - over and over again. So, what's the deal? At their poolside tables, you get three good courses for £17.50 including a quarter carafe of house wine! Some starters have a supplement but its still under £20.

The menu is well constructed and there wasn't anything I wouldn't enjoy but I prefer to get hold of their full wine list, rather than the shortened version on the menu sheet. The service is friendly and efficient, nothing is too much trouble.

Now you might think they excelled on one occasion; however, I've been there at least 10 times and is consistently delivers

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had a 3 course meal, a large glass of wine and a coffee all for just under £18. The food was hot and cooked well. The only downside for me was there was only one chose for vegetarians.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went to the Watkins Restaurant within the empire hotel on Sunday evening 9/6/13 the service and food was excellent as each time we visit this establishment,when visiting Llandudno we always try to book in here.one of the best restaurants we have visited .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Looked all over Llundudno for a decent restaurant and eventually found Watkins and Co.
Outstanding service and food, Michael, his wife and team are excellent. Check it out.
In addition, they have a boutique hotel and restaurant called Osborne House close by which is as good as anything in London or any other major city. Highly recommended.


Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watkins and Co. at the Empire also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Watkins and Co. at the Empire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watkins and Co. at the Empire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.