We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and very welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Can-y-Bae

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Can-y-Bae
Save
You added Can-y-Bae to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Privilege Room Rates
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Amlwch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place and very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were welcomed the moment we walked through the door. We were in room 15 and what a lovely room with a fantastic view. We were there for one night whilst going to watch a show at Venue Cymru and if I go again I will definitely return to Can y Bae. The hosts were fantastic and very attentive throughout our stay and the breakfast was lovely too. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    40
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
105
305
64
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very nice B&B. Both the room and bathroom were clean, quiet, well-sized and well-appointed. Bed was very comfortable. Generous portions for breakfast and a good variety of foods. Within walking distance of everything. Hosts were very pleasant and helpful.

If I had to find something to complain about, it would be the wifi in the room was a bit spotty (this is made clear on their website though). It worked fine in the lounge, however, and I was quite happy to sit there and enjoy the view of the ocean as I worked.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was our 2nd visit and yet again faultless .
Sadly it was only for one night as we were attending the theatre to se Cats.
Service first class, spotlessly clean and very welcoming.
Breakfast cooked to order and was delicious and plentiful .
The staff can not do enough for you nothing is of any trouble at all.
Location very good and particularly if attending a show at the theatre. Well done all and many thanks, already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Myself and my friend have just spent 4 nights at Can y bae in Llandudno. The standard of the B&B was the best that we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. We both received a warm welcome from David and Michael. Breakfast is the best and not to missed. Well done it's must be the jewel in the crown for Llandudno.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have a wonderful view of the whole of the promenade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is the second time that my partner and I have stayed with Michael and David and, as before, it was a joy. If you want a sterile, corporate chain hotel then for goodness sake don't stay at the Can-y-Bae. But if you want a warm welcome, enjoy good food, excellent company and fun banter with your hosts, this is the place. Our only disappointment was that we didn't see Rollo the dog this time! While you enjoy a drink, spare an hour or two to appreciate all the theatrical posters, photos and memorabilia that grace the walls, it's a remarkable archive. The room that we had faced the sea and was first rate, breakfast freshly cooked and service top notch. Next time we're in Llandudno we'll be back at the Can-y-Bae.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned (1st June) from this Hotel after a wonderful 1 night stay.

When we arrived we were given a little brief introduction to Llandudno with recommendations of places to go which was excellent. We were shown to our room on the second floor which had a beautiful sea view across the bay of Llandudno. We were told a couple of things about the room, including what the cords were in the bathroom (one for the shower, one for the light) which was a big help. I have stayed in many hotels and B&B's and not many, if any, have taken me up to the room and explained a few things. It was a perfect little touch and a great start to our break as we were made to feel very welcome.

The room was exceptionally clean with nice little touches. Some of the little freebies in the room included mints, bottles of water, usual toiletries with the added luxury of a nail file and cotton wool buds! The biggest bonus for me was the GINGERBREAD men on the hospitality tray which were very quickly gobbled up with a cuppa :) plenty of bits on the hospitality tray which meant we never ran out of milk!

After a lovely day in Llandudno we came back to the room and watched a little bit of TV, only negative we will say is that the TV is too small but it's not even a negative really because with such a beautiful bay in front of the hotel who needs a TV!

The beds were very comfortable and we had an undisturbed sleep and when we woke up were knocked up by a seagull on the window ledge! :)

Overall a fantastic stay, we would definitely stay here again and make sure you take in the recommendations that the owners will tell you about because we popped over to Conwy and had some beautiful home made ice cream!! Delicious!!

Forgot to mention the breakfast! Great breakfast, very tasty and hot.

The service in the hotel is second to none so do not delay and book today!

Thank you for the amazing stay, we will be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

a week off work this week, what shall we do? didn't have to think too hard ! can y bae here we come, always a wonderful stay, always made welcome, breakfast gets better ( if that's possible) every time we're there, the can y bae is a very friendly place to stay & well worth a visit

Room Tip: front rooms have the promenade & sea view, mountain view from back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Can-y-Bae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can-y-Bae

Address: 10 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Can-y-Bae 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the late nineteenth century the 'Can-Y-Bae' has provided an elegant escape from busy everyday life. Can-Y-Bae is graded as 4 star guest accommodation by the AA & we are proud to offer fully refurbished accommodation with a relaxed elegance and a contemporary twist at the centre of Llandudno's gently curving promenade. Can-Y-Bae has a fully licensed bar and restaurant; a lift is available to all premier rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Can-y-Bae Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can-y-Bae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.