We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very welcoming.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Can-y-Bae

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Can-y-Bae
Save
You added Can-y-Bae to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Privilege Room Rates
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very welcoming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just returned from a few days at Can - y - Bae in Llandudno. Great little hotel, warm welcome from the moment you check in. rooms very comfortable and clean. Great views across the bay. Awesome breakfast. Excellent position in the town to explore from. Great weekend away. Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    40
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
106
305
64
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned home from a lovely relaxing one night break at Can-y-Bae
It was our first visit there and we were delighted with everything about the Hotel.
It was Perfect ! The food was delicious. The Hotel was immaculate, and the bedroom and bathroom had everything provided that you could possibly wish for.

Jan & Cliff Owen.

Room Tip: Room 15 Has a Wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and we felt that we were staying with close friends. David and Michael could not have been nicer or have done more to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable! The room was beautiful- and immaculately clean ( very important to us). Breakfast was excellent, surpassed only by David's selections for dinner. If you stay here, you must have dinner here as well. It was delicious & plentiful- we were stuffed! I don't think you would find a finer dinner anywhere in town for double the price.
This was our first trip to the UK. We hope to be back next year and we will definitely plan to spend a few days here.

Room Tip: Our room was comfy and quiet. Couldn't have asked for anything better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

There was nine of us staying at the Can-y-Bae for a wedding, mostly couples with ages ranging from 21 to 85! Michael and David could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable and stress free. We must have changed the booking half a dozen times with people coming, then not; and then coming again! Nothing was too much trouble - even booking taxis at a few moments' notice.

The rooms were clean and well equipped, and it didn't matter if you were at the front of the hotel or the back you had a fantastic view, either of Llandudno Bay, or the valley heading off to Betws y Coed.

Couldn't have asked for more - we will certainly be returning!

Room Tip: Any room. they're all excellent. Valley/mountain views at the back, sea/bay views to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Amazing experience!! From the moment we arrived, Michael and David were always there for us. Made dinner reservations, provided guide advice, had local brochures and always asked how we were doing but sincerely - not out of duty. Breakfast was excellent. A nice touch was having the same individual table every morning. Room had great view of the water. Summary - making you comfortable and relaxed while ensuring you have a great time is their passion, not their job. Thanks Michael and David!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Where to start? To use the words of Tina Turner the Can-y-Bae is simply the best.

I always wonder what makes a good review and struggle to use the right words. So I thought I would sum up the hotel by taking a leaf out of Pam Ayres' book and write a little poem.

'We came to stay at the Can-y-Bae, and why was that I hear you say.
To celebrate my 40th year in style and grace, so where else but here.
No other hotel high standards will pass, the service old chap is so first class.
When you come to stay not far will you roam as the Can-y-Bae is Home from Home.'

With excellent service and accommodation of the highest standards and staff who make you feel that nothing is too much trouble. You have an award winning formulae for a perfect holiday.

In other words...

If an excellent hotel is where you wish to stay, there is only one choice the Can-y-Bae!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a treat! A small hotel with a huge reputation.
David and Michael are very welcoming hosts to a spotlessly clean, well furnished hotel.
Breakfast is well cooked and presented and as much as you want, and the evening menu is great, using fresh local meat fish and veg.
Other points in favour, a well stocked comfortable bar (lager at £3 per pint, can't be bad!) A good selection of ciders and a lovely outside seating area if you wish to take your drink outside and enjoy the view, or if you prefer sit in the lounge and enjoy the stunning views.
A lift to the third floor and a shoe cleaning machine in the hall way. A little touch but no need to take a shoe cleaning kit.
In my job I travel all over the UK and without doubt this hotel takes some beating.
I hope to return very, very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Can-y-Bae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can-y-Bae

Address: 10 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Can-y-Bae 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the late nineteenth century the 'Can-Y-Bae' has provided an elegant escape from busy everyday life. Can-Y-Bae is graded as 4 star guest accommodation by the AA & we are proud to offer fully refurbished accommodation with a relaxed elegance and a contemporary twist at the centre of Llandudno's gently curving promenade. Can-Y-Bae has a fully licensed bar and restaurant; a lift is available to all premier rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Can-y-Bae Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can-y-Bae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.