We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Can-y-Bae

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Can-y-Bae
Save
You added Can-y-Bae to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Privilege Room Rates
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

A wonderfully warm welcome, beautiful surroundings, delicious food, spotless rooms and an unmistakeable charm, the Can-y-Bae is the place to stay in Llandudno! David and Micheal are the best possible hosts and loads of fun. We really didn't want to leave and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    40
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
106
305
64
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This trip I with my friend from Thailand and he loved the hotel as much as I did.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Thanks again to Dave & Michael for a wonderful weekend - fanstatic hosts, lovely atmosphere, fab food (especially the roasts & the chocolate sponge to die for!) and of course the terrific Welsh cider! Hope we can come back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Can-Y-Bae B&B offers beautiful, well-appointed rooms - with all the needed amenities for a stay in this resort town on the north coast of Wales. But, most important, the owners/hosts (Mike and Dave) are warm, gracious, friendly and helpful. They make you feel right at home. The full breakfasts are "full" - you won't go away hungry - as well as being individually prepared. They also offer a dinner option each evening - with menus available that morning, so you know what is being prepared that evening. We took advantage our first evening there are were glad we did. Dave is an amazing cook (this is not the "typical" British fare). The food is very good and well worth the value - a better value, in fact, than some of the restaurants in town.

Ask for a room in the front with a view of the bay - amazing views of the entire boardwalk along the ocean. The hotel is conveniently located to city attractions, all within easy walking distance - as well as easy to access the major transportation arterials/options in and out of the city. It is a quiet place allowing you solitude or interaction with other guests if you choose.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We returned in August for the second time this year.This time just myself and my husband not the usual 16 lively o.a.p's. Our experience was just as good, lovely warm welcome, carried in the suitcases for us because it was drizzling, The room wasn't quite ready, we were early, so we were offered coffee and biscuits whilst we waited, most appreciated. Food and cleanliness just as we have come to expect and the weather was kind to us which was the icing on the cake.Many thanks once again to David, Michael and Sue for all their hard work and gracious hospitality. Hoping to return again in the not too distant future. As an extra, we are yet to meet other fellow travellers from the U.K. who haven't stayed there before.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Only stopped at Can-Y-Bae for 2 nights but during this time we had no concerns whatsoever, in fact the hospitality of the owners was the absolute cherry on the cake, they were welcoming, helpful and made you feel so comfortable - the stay in the Can-Y-Bae was the ideal place for us to relax - the food was good, the standard of clealiness faultless and the facilities were great, no issues whatsoever - never expected a return trip to Llandudno, but because of our experience at Can-Y-Bae a return trip is definately on the cards!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Can-y-Bae is a wonderful hotel and I highly recommend it. Myself and my daughter arrived to Llandudno for a 4 night stay. We shared a twin room that was very well equipped, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was superb with a wide range of cereals, fruit (tinned and fresh), delicious yogurts, fruit juices, muffins etc. The cooked breakfast was beautifully done with high quality produce. You can also opt for a 3 course evening meal on a daily basis priced very reasonably at £15. We ate in twice during our stay and thoroughly enjoyed our dinners and found them to be excellent quality and great value for money. Michael and Dave were really nice hosts and gave us a very warm welcome. They were friendly and professional at all times and were very helpful. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Can-y-Bae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can-y-Bae

Address: 10 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#1 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Can-y-Bae 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the late nineteenth century the 'Can-Y-Bae' has provided an elegant escape from busy everyday life. Can-Y-Bae is graded as 4 star guest accommodation by the AA & we are proud to offer fully refurbished accommodation with a relaxed elegance and a contemporary twist at the centre of Llandudno's gently curving promenade. Can-Y-Bae has a fully licensed bar and restaurant; a lift is available to all premier rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Can-y-Bae Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can-y-Bae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.