We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommeded for tall people and those that like a quiet early night!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunnyside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Sunnyside to your Saves list
The Sunnyside
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 - 4 Llewelyn Ave, Llandudno LL30 2ER, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 152 Llandudno B&B and Inns
wrexham, north wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not recommeded for tall people and those that like a quiet early night!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

Booked a last minute night away with my boyfriend.
When we arrived at Sunnyside we were lucky to find a parking space on the road outside (its pretty busy as near town centre).
There was no warm/ friendly greeting which I would've appreciated.
What we couldn't see on the photos is the room we booked had sloped ceilings as it was on the top floor of the guesthouse. With both of us being 6ft / 6'2 this didn't go down too well. It was also up about 4 flights of quite steep stairs- no good for elderly etc.
The ensuite also had a sloped ceiling but worse, it had a carpeted floor. There was a bath with tap/shower combination however no shower curtain or shower hose clip. This kind of made the shower pointless especially as the sloped ceiling prevented you standing up in the bath. If I'd have been staying longer and needed to wash my hair I would have serious complaints. The only plus points were that both the room and bathroom were clean, and the selection of toiletrees was quite nice (big bottles).
We were in our room by about 10pm but struggled to sleep as we were kept awake by the noise from the town centre. There is a busy bar opposite where people were sat outside drinking. It was a hot summer's night so we had to leave the small window open. The room was very hot and stuffy.
In the morning I had a vegetarian breakfast which was nice and the breakfast staff were very friendly.
To sum up I would not stay here again and wouldn't recommend especially if your room is on the top floor!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    53
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
46
55
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

The Sunnyside we visited in north wales was very nice, in the process of modernisation due to new ownership I believe. The owners were very friendly and answered all our questions about places to see and visit in the town of llundlandno and its surroundings. The food was nice and cooked fresh to order. The bar had recently been decorated with new furniture and had a nice relaxing theme to it.

We was dissapointed on several elements, the Sunnyside Hotel is not a hotel, more of a Bed and Breakfast and we felt we were missold on that part due to the fact that on approaching the site, the 'hotel was taken off the sign, so that it just said 'sunnyside' (you could see the 'hotel' had been painted over), and the size of the property reflected this. Maybe they are in the process of updating their marketing and advertisments also.

The room we stayed in was presented to us as a superior room which we stayed in for two nights, this was way to small and didnt really reflect the money we were paying for the room, low ceilings, not much space to walk in and smaking my head on the roof strutts on a few occasions. We did have a separate unsuite but it was definately in need of modernisation as although the facilities were fine, you couldnt even stand up to have a proper shower (bath shower). No lifts also and small stair ways to carry your luggage through.

To summarise, This wasnt a negative experience as it was a great place to stay and really nice people, but we were looking for a bit more luxury which we feel wasnt their for a 'hotel' and was slightly missold on that front. If you are looking for a great BnB and a nice personal experience with the owners you cant go wrong with the 'Sunnyside'.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

A lovely small family run Hotel, which felt like home from home. Recently renovated and is 9/10’s of the way there. This is a perfect little gem, with a very relaxing lounge with brown leather couches, flat screen TV and fish tank. The Sunnyside has got what it takes to make a holiday. A lovely bright dinning room on ground level, large double bedrooms and a very pleasant sitting area to front. Location second to none at the base of the Great Orme, within 100 yards of some great family restaurants and shops and 300 yards to the seafront. We travelled with a 2 year and a 76 year old - suited both perfectly! Say hi to Candy the dog when you go there!

  • Liked — friendly owners, relaxing lounge
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

We recently stayed here taking up 2 x dbl rooms. The hotel is in a great location in the centre of town but no sea view. Check in was very quick and friendly.
The rooms were very clean but a bit on the small size and they could do with a bit of modernisation.
We had a quite stay and breakfast the next morning was very good. We got everything that we ordered and it was hot and tasty, with plenty of tea and toast.
The bar looks as tho it has been renovated recently and it was a very pleasant place to spend time having a night cap.
Overall a very good experience, with very good staff, just the rooms could do with some up dating and bigger beds....maybe to the same standard as the bar and breakfast room.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Beautiful downs stairs, need to apply same attention in the rooms.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sunnyside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunnyside

Address: 2 - 4 Llewelyn Ave, Llandudno LL30 2ER, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunnyside 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunnyside is a friendly, family run 20 bedroom Guest Accommodation in Victorian Llandudno. Situated below the Great Orme and surrounded by all the attractions of Victorian Llandudno. The Sunnyside is the ideal location for your North Wales break, holiday or adventure.The Sunnnyside has a light and welcoming restaurant serving a comprehensive breakfast choice, also our warm and comfortable lounge is ideal for relaxing with a drink from our small bar area in reception. The Sunnyside boasts 20 individually decorated rooms all of which have en-suite bathroom facilities, include colour television and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Sunnyside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Llandudno
The Sunnyside Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunnyside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.